We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased.”
Review of Zinc

Zinc
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 559 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between College and Temple Streets
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleased.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I shared three courses: Pot stickers, skirt steak, and cider creme brulee. All excellent. Service was faultless (caveat --we were very early). The kitchen split the entree into two plates instead of simply giving us an extra plate. This is now common in many restaurants, and always appreciated. No sharing charges. The wine by-the-glass rioja reserva is highly recommended. The Uruguayan pinot noir was a little disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank trustme1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    93
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
236 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Must try if you are in New Haven or worth a special trip”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After reading reviews about Zinc on TripAdvisor, we decided to give it a try for dinner. We liked the idea of “farm to table” as Zinc boasts on its website. We made a reservation for a 6:30 dinner seating. The place was bustling with patrons and staff. The atmosphere was energetic and romantic at the same time. The wait staff was beyond professional. The front of house manager was making sure everything was perfect, even delivering a couple of apps or entrées to make sure the food was served promptly. –This is a well oiled machine-.

We were wowed by every morsel. Each item stood out on its own. The steamed dumplings was served in a flavorful ginger soy based sauce. The sweet and sour kale with bits of bacon was delicious and a great accompaniment to the Barramundi (fish) that I devoured.

We enjoyed Zinc so much that we returned the next evening to celebrate our anniversary. The lovely hostess remembered us from the night before. After a bit of small talk, she sent two glasses of champagne to our table –absolutely top notch! This night I enjoyed the diver scallops that were cooked to perfection. We also tried the lettuce wraps which is served with thinly sliced ginger. Some of the dishes pack some spicy heat, so if that is not your preference, let your server know.

There is a full bar that should meet your needs. Everything from Gluten free beer, wines by the glass or other cocktails.

There is on street parking, however, the restaurant participates in a validation program –just ask when you make a reservation

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh, friendly”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I left wishing I had known about Zinc on earlier trips to New Haven! The warm welcome when we showed up an hour early for our reservation was just the start of a great dinner. Our friendly waiter answered all our questions professionally and clearly, and guided me toward a house special cocktail that was terrific. Super fresh ingredients treated lightly by the chef, flavorful combinations of summer vegetables and tasty fish. I won't miss a chance to return on a future visit to New Haven.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCTranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a reservation at 7 PM and arrived a bit early. We were shown our table immediately. We were greeted immediately by our server who explained some of the selections on the menu. Their wine list was very good albeit the wine by the glass list was not very long. Both of our dinners were excellent. Mine was fish with sweet and sour kale. My husband had duck. He said it was the best duck he had ever had. We shared an appetizer of steamed dumplings. For dessert we shared goat cheesecake. So good! Everything was just wonderful. We were surprised to find a restaurant of this quality in a college town. Shame on Cambridge MA, which has very few good restaurants near Harvard Square. We intend to go back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washashorecapecodma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I just happened upon this place, and I'm so glad we did. The atmosphere was was welcoming yet romantic. Service was nothing less than the best. The food was rich and creative, yet simple and fresh. I wish we had stayed longer in New Haven.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing