We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Experience”
Review of Zinc

Zinc
Reserve with OpenTable
Zinc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 561 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between College and Temple Streets
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I just happened upon this place, and I'm so glad we did. The atmosphere was was welcoming yet romantic. Service was nothing less than the best. The food was rich and creative, yet simple and fresh. I wish we had stayed longer in New Haven.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    93
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fine, creative dining”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent service, fresh interesting food. We shared lovely salads to start and then each had our own main course. One of us had the market menu which was the best. The Pot de Creme dessert was perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank capindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Super Lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had been on the road since 4.30 a.m. and were tired and ready for a nice lunch. Zinc surpassed our expectations. We ordered the Wagyu Burger. It was sumptuous as were the pommes frites that were served scorchingly hot with housemade ketchup. We also ordered the Pan Seared Salmon with the Soba Noodle Salad. The salmon was cooked perfectly and we can't say enough about the salad. It was chilled and fresh and crunchy and gingery--beautiful. The last item we ordered was the Pan Seared Yellowfin Tuna served with black rice. It was another winner and the wasabi oil was a perfect touch. The real gem on the two fish plates was the squash. We believe it was baby pattypan squash that had been poached in lemon juice and served chilled. It was just the right counterpoint to the fish. Kudos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agatha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I went here with a friend for dinner.
When the waiter realized we were college "kids" his complete manner changed. We were barely served our food, let alone drinks. And he shoved a check at us the first chance he had.
The food was so-so, but not for the price you pay here.
I would recommend going to Kitchen Zinc where the food is better and the service is too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Succulent cuisine!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had the duck nachos as an appetizer followed by the barramundi for my entree. Washed it down with a Pinot. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is very good. Encouraged to know New Haven's cuisine options continue to improve and grow. Kudos!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLKtravels61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinc also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing