We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modern Apizza

Modern Apizza
Ranked #1 of 551 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great pizza with down home atmosphere. We had the clam and bacon and pepper pizza, outstanding!!
Real bacon mixed with generous clams.
Staff is typical whatever, don't care, but it was perfect for us.
Wine was super cheep, a carafe of Lindeman's Merlot for 13 bucks, wow.
Parking was tough, my only compaint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    171
    47
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
153 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Connecticut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The sausage and bacon pizza is the best anywhere. Their white clam pizza is incredible. This pizza place is better than Frank Pepes. Easy parking and a great take out option..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrfoxwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First rate New Haven pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

There's much debate about where to get the best pizza in New Haven, but I'm certain that if you try this restaurant you will not be disappointed. We made our first visit here last week and were blown away by the flavor. We tried a clam pizza and a meat combo and both were excellent.

While there was a wait, it was short and worth it. The wait staff was efficient and super friendly.

When in New Haven be sure to give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
475 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The pizza is great, the rest so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My advice for Modern Apizza is to go for the pizza and skip the rest like appetizers. The pizza is the star of the show, while the rest kind of detracts from that. We went on a relatively slow Sunday afternoon but service was a bit indifferent, ambiance not stellar, appetizers like salads a bit late in arriving and on the wilted side. Try take out and you won't have the worry about the rest detracting from great pizza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Without peer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went there last night, and the place is the best. I'm from far away, but grew up in this area, and remember Pepe's reputation, so last time I visited I went to Pepe's and was really disappointed. This time I decided to check out Modern, and it was fantastic. We took my 87 year-old father there, and it was an incredibly enjoyable evening. Starting with the young man who directed us where to park, to the person who greeted us and put us on the wait list, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the pizza was fantastic. They clearly don't need any compliments, since they are incredibly busy, apparently all the time, but they certainly deserve it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Apizza also viewed

 

Been to Modern Apizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing