We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana

Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #2 of 551 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The pizza places in New Haven seem to inspire very strong feelings. Honestly, I think our local places with ovens imported & built brick by brick from Italy have better pizza (in terms of flavor). That's not to say this wasn't good. We've been here before and it was good. On this recent trip we ordered the white clam which was on the salty side & the fresh tomatoe which was very good. Thus, it averaged to "good" for this visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    322
    126
    50
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is it the wait that makes the pizza taste better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate at the original pepper Pizza building behind the larger Pepe's. both locations had a line, so we chose the smaller line. Had to wait about twenty minutes, plenty of people left during that time and the tables weren't cleared. Suggest busboy? It was worth the wait, white clam pizza, cheese pizza, salad and Peroni beer. I expected the overworked waitresses to take it out on us, I was wrong, the wait staff was as pleasant as could be!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy101p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The White Clam Pizza is the specialty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I was taken to this place 26 years ago to try the clam pizza. Found myself in the area and decided to try it again. Not much has changes. An old, college town restaurant. Service is fast buy a little cold. Facilities are clean but old. The clam pizza is a white pizza with thin crust and lots of chopped clams. Overall, a good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“D--n good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

One of the locals we met had recommended Frank Pepe's for excellent pizza. We just came from Chicago and thought we should make a quick comparison of the style and quality of New Haven pizza. We ordered the thin crust pizza with tomato and mozzarella. Delivered hot straight from the stove on the tray it was baked on. I was prepared to be a sceptic but came to beleive that Pepe's really makes a d--n good pie. This is a fun and casual place to go with family or friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCampezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely authentic, original coal fired pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything was great. Could have used water refills, but it was very busy. The pizza was wonderful and flavorful. Parking was easy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing