We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, nothing special”

Roia Restaurant and Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Roia Restaurant and Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 559 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sadly, nothing special”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Came here, after reading the nyt review and a few friends enthusiastic endorsements. But agree with other reviewers. Food uninspired. The chicken liver pate seemed too oily. My octopus app would have been very good except I wish it were served warmer. The artic char fell flat. Except for one friend at the table, who loved his steak frite, no one else seemed overly enthused by their meals. I did like the atmosphere and the wait staff did a very nice job. And I sincerely hope this restaurant succeeds. But I'm not sure i would be willing to give it a second try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonnieCinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    13
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnifying Glass Needed to See Food Portions”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went for brunch and my husband ordered steak and eggs. We thought perhaps it was a mistake when they served the dish. The steak was more like a single beef medallion. Very small. Miniscule. We both dislike large, over abundant portions, but this was an exaggeration in mini portions. They could have better used it for a steak slider.

The space is lovely, the service is pleasant and prompt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paloma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NY Times needs to visit again”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Recently visited with friends on a weekday night suprised at how crowded it was and for sure if you are going to try it make sure to have reservations. I was glad to see someone open up again in this location but not overly pleased with all the changes made to the inside I liked the bar where it used to be. Very large open space and rather loud so if you are looking for quiet dining not the place to go. The staff was okay but not overly attentive and did not seem to care when mistakes were made.
Limited menu and the food was good but not great. Two of the folks in our party ordered the lamb cooked two ways and when brought to the table it was only half the dish the waiter returned a bit later with a side plate and the lamb prepared the second way - to be the restaurant they want to be the chef should have taken the plates back and returned them properly. Also it would have been nice if the manager or someone at least acknowledged the error. Very nice wine list and nice to have a sommelier but does not seem to fit with the restaurant.
Overall average worth trying but not sure I would hurry back here. Not sure what the NY Times saw that made it so great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food reasonably priced”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Roia's cuisine is mostly French with some Italian thrown in. While the menu is limited, the dishes are all of excellent quality from fish to lamb. Desserts are also worth splurging for. Excellent bread (pain de campagne), very good and attentive waiting staff. My only quibbles are that the music was very loud: as the restaurant has mostly hard surfaces (floors, columns, etc...), it becomes difficult to hear people across the table. Also, the wash basins of the restrooms are located in a hallway almost inside the restaurant in plain view of diners. Not pleasant for either the diners or the person who used the restroom. This could easily be corrected with a screen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven in New Haven”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Located in a renovated hotel the conservation and period accuracy is very impressive. I like smaller menus when each item is a home run. We were 4 people and sampled 10 items. All were well prepared and eye candies as well. Avi - we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roia Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

New Haven, CT
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Roia Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing