We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrible”
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Ranked #59 of 634 Restaurants in New Haven
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here so excited to experience New Haven Italian restaurant had been to Goodfellas recently and was so impressed by their service we decided to try Portofinos. Big mistake! Not even in the same playing field. Absolute horrible service from the time we walked in to when we left. Walked in to ask the bald manager that we had arrived and was waiting on our table and our friends would b coming in soon His response was table not ready Waited at bar for 15 mins when I called my friend and she said they had been seated for 20 mins!!!! Steaming at this point but ok it is will b fine. Wrong!! The most arrogant waiter was assigned to us. my girlfriend and I wanted to order 3/4 appetizers instead of dinner. He said No can't do it. Really??? he did it grudgingly Too many big parties. Just a horrible experience will never go back. And spreading the word that this is not the place to go if u want to feel special Food was good! But I can go to Goodfellas and Adrianna's for better food and incredible service. Don't waste your money here

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2019

Make reservations if you are going on the weekend! We ate at a high top table in the bar area because there were several parties going on. The food is very good. Italian bread served hot out of the oven with olive oil and grated cheese. The cheese plate was a nice appetizer with a glass of wine, it had several different cheeses, assorted olives, salami, capcola, prosciutto, roasted peppers and hot peppers . The dinner salad was good. You get a salad before your dinner, which was good. Our dinners were very good, the portions are generous and our waiter was very nice. Even though it was crowded, we were not rushed at all, you got to sit and enjoy your dinner with spacing between the courses. Very good Italian food.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VitoDog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

Visited Portofino Restaurant on 12/26/18 with family members whom reside in CT. but had not dinned at Portofino. The relatives had made dinner reservation for four adults and two school age children.
Portofino is centrally located with easy parking, nice big windows to the street, with pretty white linen tables and clean fresh air as you enter the restaurant. It was the middle of the week after Xmas holidays. The restaurant was not busy. Even though reservation had been made a table for six was not set until after we arrived. Once seated Pasquale introduced himself as our table waitstaff. We informed him of some dietary needs and the fact that the youngsters were hungry and asked if he could expedite the bread. Pasquale appeared to be very assured of his position at the restaurant and seemed to have worked at the establishment for a very long time. He knew the menu well but was a bit abrupt when asked about particular details or requests; he would walk away before the patron finished speaking. Granted, he eventually returned with what was attempted to be requested. Our group ordered two bottles of white wine and both times the bottle had been kept warm and had to be chilled in a wine bucket for 12-15 minutes before being served. One guest ordered Vodka mixed drinks which he said were very good. Appetizers ordered: Calamari Siciliana, Stuffed Mushroom and Raw Oysters. Main course included: Pork Shank, Fillet Specials of the nigh, Grouper, Lobster Ravioli and Penne Alla Vodka. Desserts: Carrot Cake, Tartufo and Chocolate Mouse. The food took a very long time to be prepared. all main course were served with a house salad. Everyone enjoyed their meal but the preferred main course was the Pork Shank and the Tartufo was the preferred dessert.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank glob-tratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Have tried a couple of times, but the food is never consistent. I enjoy sitting at the bar, as the service is always great. Good selection of wines. The pasta seems gummy and heavy-certainly not homemade and light. Tried the cavatelli recently with meatball, sausage and braciola. Meat was good, but pasta not so much. I have not had much luck ordering the fish - best stick with meat. Salads are good and the bread is excellent. Appetizers are so-so. Desserts, although not house made, are typically very good.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

great small Italian restaurant in New Haven....easy access off highway...parking in back

Scrod sicilian over escarole was the best I have ever had, generous portion of very fresh
scrod.
Filet mignon very good
service was excellent
At least 10 specials to choose from

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

New Haven, CT
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing