We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food in a funky atmosphere”

Cilantro Fresh Mexican Grill
Ranked #14 of 16 Quick Bites in New Haven
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 27, 2017

An early dinner on a Sunday night! A few people coming and going with take-out as we ate, and by 6.30pm the place was pretty full! Clearly a very popular establishment, with about 8 tables/booths in total.

Fast, friendly counter service. Great variety of classic Mexican dishes available. According to the menu, they also serve beer and wine. Free salsa bar and small bag of tortilla chips with every meal. Food came out quickly and was piping hot. Excellent prices ($8.50 for a hearty veggie burrito). 15% discount for college students if you show your college ID (yeah!).

Fun atmosphere, great decor, plays decent Top 20 music from the 90s through to today (at least whilst we were there). Good parking outside.

I definitely plan to go back again if I'm ever in the area :)

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ModernWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2017

Great place to grab Mexican take-out.
We take-out from here probably once a month. It is my daughter's favorite place.
The food is consistently good and very filling. Everything is made up fresh.

The recently changed the chips they give with each meal and it was a great change, the new chips are lighter and airier, not so heavy and dense.

The salsa bar is fun, but they don't always have it fully stocked.

The restaurant is small and cute.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank miakamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Ordered a steak burrito with beans on the side. Woman working there acted like this was a big deal . Got home and the soggy beans were slathered all over it. Called to complain and got nowhere. They don't care. Would never get a 9 dollar plus tax burrito from them for takeout again. They clearly don't care what you want and make it only their way.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank dms2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Very good, fresh food and a great alternative to other fast food places. Sometimes ordering the food can be a bit slow, even if the line isn't very long, but it's still worth it. My favorite is the soft shell chicken tacos. Very flavorful!

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank GoGirlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

I love it here and so does my 6 yr old and 20 yr old. It's a treat place to sit in air take out. I love their tacos, my daughter loves the burrito and she eats their black beans and rice. All meals come with chips. The food is so fresh I hope to be able to come here whenever visiting New Haven.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank MelodyLehrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cilantro Fresh Mexican Grill also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Cilantro Fresh Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing