We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to meet up before visiting the museums or theater.”

Atticus Bookstore & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 634 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: For over 40 years Atticus Bookstore Cafe has been supporting a more connected and thoughtful New Haven. We offer comforting cafe fare and naturally-leavened breads featuring regional ingredients, and an evolving curation of books and gifts.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Atticus book shop and cafe is a well loved New Haven institution to be enjoyed either at the small tables or sitting at the counter having a bowl of their black bean soup and a cup of excellent coffee. The café is surrounded by an excellent choice of books that makes browsing a pleasure.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank JKR4514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant/bookstore has original food options. The menu is limited. They do have a breakfast menu. Atticus is similar to Panera, but locally owned (I believe).

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank SandersonClan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

This bookstore/cafe complex is adorable. It’s a small area for seating, but you can take to go like any coffee shop. The food was delicious and prices fair. Cool place!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank AmandaBaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

A limited menu usually means quicker service - especially in a soup and sandwich environment like this. And despite telling our waiter we were off to the theater and needed food and drink in a timely fashion, it just didn't happen. I would be very skeptical if ordering a glass of wine here - we were told the red we requested would come from a bottle opened several days prior! And so we ordered a bottle to assure freshness. Food orders were finally delivered but prepared incorrectly. The black bean soup is good and reliable - though don't count on that dallop of sour cream the waiter mentioned.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank actresssq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Atticus Bookstore Cafe is one of my favorite eateries not only in New Haven but anywhere. The food is wholesome and delicious, and the ambience is delightful. Wonderful service too. Near Yale and Yale New Haven Hospital.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atticus Bookstore & Cafe also viewed

 
New Haven, CT
 

Been to Atticus Bookstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing