We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn New Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn New Haven
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Clean room, bed was comfy, bathroom had shampoos, lotions, plenty of towels. Breakfast consisted of bagels, English muffins, doughnuts, coffee, orange juice, apple juice. Not a luxury hotel or anything but a nice place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    64
    46
    66
See reviews for
94
61
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I booked last minute and understood I was getting a smoking room, so I expected that, but the hallways smelled like smoke too, the bed spreads were worn and one was torn, there was no TV channel guide, which is annoying when you don't know the channels and the bathroom fan was increadibly loud. The desk chair was not in good shape either

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Haven hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is about an 8-10 minute drive from Yale, which is around a 15 dollar cab ride away. There's a bus stop for public transit within walking distance, but it's in a neighborhood where I wouldn't walk around alone at night. Or rather, you shouldn't, because I did and after doing so I'd say it's not a great idea.

The hotel itself is staffed by uninterested, unmotivated people who are not particularly knowledgeable about the area or helpful with...much of anything. The area that separates the lobby and the actual rooms is not locked or anything, though it seems like it ought to be. The hallways are well lit and reek of cigarette smoke despite many signs that say "no smoking." The building is old, but not falling apart. I rented a single on the second floor. I can hear everything in the rooms around me and in the hallway, which has been...interesting. The bed is lumpy, but with the king size bed at least they gave me five little pillows, which is fine for one person alone. The lighting in the rooms is poor. The shower is easy to operate and of a normal size, but the bathroom is, again, poorly lit. The internet in the rooms is easy to access and works fairly well, but it's advertised as high speed and I think that's giving it a little too much credit.

Hilariously, I wanted to get a wakeup call and picked up the receiver on the phone in my room to call the office. However, no dial tone. I hang it up, and try again. No dial tone! On inspecting the phone further, I find that it is neither plugged into a phone jack nor a power source. On inspecting the rooms further, I find that there does not appear to be any sort of phone jack present that I can find. Thus, no wakeup call. No way to schedule a cab for pickup the next morning. No phone calls, no calls between rooms, nothing.

Halfway through my stay, my keycard to my room stopped working. This was apparently such a common occurrence that the person at the front desk didn't even need my prompting when I showed up with my key in hand.

Also, I am quite confident there is a drag race going on outside based on all the noise.

This hotel is a good pick if you are meeting a particularly classy Craigslist hookup, or you just really like Wal-Mart (it's next door). Some people seem to enjoy smoking in their nonsmoking rooms and watching what sounds like wrestling matches. If you stay here, don't try to eat the breakfast.

Room Tip: The best room is at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzilouWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry for the few minor issues you had during your stay. However none of these issues were brought to the front desk attention, if they were we would of been more then happy to address them.
The phone jack and alarm clock in the room were checked by our housekeeping staff and everything seem to be working fine! As for the Wi-Fi yes, its not going to be as fast as a home Wi-Fi but its faster then what you will receive at many other hotels and its free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The owners have made an effort to maintain this hotel. When we arrived the gave us a key to a room that had not been finished being made up. However this was quickly rectified.

Easy to find and with a few fast food places and a Walmart across the road it's great if you've been driving all day to be able to walk somewhere.

The bathrooms are new and the whole up keep of the motel makes you feel that effort has been taken to look after the customer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hersha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.1 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Haven

Property: Days Inn New Haven
Address: 270 Foxon Blvd, New Haven, CT 06513-2324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Haven Hotel New Haven
New Haven Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing