We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect gem: friendly, attentive staff; convenient location; stylish, elegant decor;”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect gem: friendly, attentive staff; convenient location; stylish, elegant decor;”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

From reservations over the phone to final leave-taking, this was a perfect experience. The reservation desk was amenable to our request for a somewhat early arrival and a slightly late departure. And then at the eleventh hour we had to put everything off by a day because of a snowstorm, and they were very accommodating to this change of plans as well!

Rooms were elegantly styled, modern in design (but not cookie-cutter hotel soulless), our 7th floor room had a gorgeous view of the Yale campus, the bathroom was spacious and beautifully appointed, the WiFi worked first try. And the lobby is just gorgeous.

The staff was always attentive, sensitive to our needs (especially helpful to my wife, who uses a cane), valet parking brought our car around consistently in less than 5 minutes. They even brought us a plate of croissants and pastries and coffee (after regular breakfast was over) -- and didn't charge us, reminding us breakfast was complimentary (which we had forgotten)!

This will definitely be our New Haven hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    184
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
250
145
41
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the past several months and absolutely love it. The rooms are clean and contemporary and, if you are into design, you'll notice many nice touches like Artemide lighting, quality bath fixtures, etc. Very comfortable bed. The bathrooms are a little small and only have a stand-up shower (great shower) - but the only real critique is that there isn't enough counter space for your travel kit. The restaurant and bar also serve excellent food. The menu is small, but very creative and everything I have tried was delicious.

There are many areas of downtown New Haven that are quite sketchy. This hotel is located on a nice block and has several good restaurants within walking distance.

Rates can vary dramatically depending on if there is a sports event or other activity going on at Yale. If you are travelling here more than once and don't like the rate - try again on your next trip.

I recommend the rooms on the back side of the hotel. You avoid most of te street noise (lots of ambulances and police cars because of nearby hospital) and the view across the tudor and gothic rooftops of the campus is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderquadrifoglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flaine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Good size room. Prompt service. Bellboys seem to run to do stuff.

Restaurant seems to lack any management whatever though food pretty good and staff pleasant. Service is very erratic

They did manage to ignore my reqeust for a room on a low floor. Had room right opposite lift when I had specifically reqeusted quiet room but had no problems with noise

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvvvvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

New Haven has a reputation for not being such a great place. I wanted to have a change of heart. The Study was a fantastic place to stay, in the middle of all the good stuff, and a beautiful hotel to boot. The Frette linens are a treat. Contemporary bathroom a plus. View onto campus was a request graciously filed by the front desk. Generally, the staff were all professional and pleasant.

I hope I'll have more opportunities to visit New Haven, and if I do, The Study is the only place I'll want to stay. Compared to similar hotels in Ny and Boston, I thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Study was fantastic. It was modern, the rooms were well equiped and the location was perfect.
Yale was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and you had restraunts and bars on your doorstep.
The staff were very professional and helpful.
No breakfast available. Valet parking but was $22 a night! Which i felt was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyBuddy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Great, great place to stay. Felt really at home even though i was only there for 1 night. Nice bar, helpful reception, excellent "living room" with Mac, good rooms. A lot of thought has gone into this place. One small complaint: guys please sort out the taxis in the morning, i nearly missed my train. Otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Study is directly on the Yale campus..a great location for anyone traveling through or visiting New Haven. My room was modern and fresh which was a relief in the middle of this fabulous campus. Everyone was helpful and good restaurants were all around. We especially enjoyed the pizza at Bar restaurant about 4 blocks away from the hotel.
Unfortunately, room service in the morning was delayed and we had to leave just as it arrived.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing