We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Special Place"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Haverford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Special Place"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Charming boutique hotel with great design and amenities in limited space. Bathroom, shower and beds all top notch. The restaurant is probably the best in New Haven - try the kale salad, homemade baked ricotta and the scallops. The Study makes one look forward to their next visit to Yale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    178
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
243
143
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location when visiting Yale and the surrounding shops. We drove down for a Yale basketball game. Check-in was speedy and the valet/bellman was quite helpful and efficient with both luggage and our car. The room was well-designed. Though it was an average sized-hotel room, it easily accommodated our family of four and a dog for a single night's stay. The 2 double beds were comfortable. The bathroom is not large but spacious enough to double as a changing room as needed.
Complimentary Poland Spring water was provided in the room. Tap water tasted the same as bottled. Missing was a coffeemaker. I imagine a single cup serving coffee maker would have fit well into the overall ambience and decor of the room, but alas none was there. My husband went downstairs and found some coffee for me in the morning.
We did not eat at the hotel. The reviews of the restaurant were not inspiring. Instead we ventured out on foot and found a number of very reasonably priced eateries for breakfast (Atticus), lunch (Shake Shack) and dinner (Thai (next to The Study) and Yorkside Pizza).
The Study is a litte pricey, so do not recommend for budget travelers. For others who opt for convenience and freshness, it is the place to stay when visiting Yale/New Haven.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojomomBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

As others have said, this is a stylish and modern hotel that does not sacrifice warmth and comfort. We were in town for a family gathering to see our youngest play at one of the "rock/jazz" music venues. I chose this hotel in part because it was walking distance to the venue. I was pleasantly surprised to learn it was also steps away from the Yale Art Museum and abutted the Yale campus. The feel around the hotel is urban college town, and in less than a half block you are immersed in a beautiful old college campus. Staff was lovely as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psteen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved the Study. We had a lovely room on the sixth floor facing north and overlooking the Yale campus. The decor was clean, modern, and unfussy. The room was well appointed and extremely comfortable. We slept soundly, despite our proximity to the elevator, and had no problems with noise. The bar and restaurant on the first floor are terrific and stylish, and the hotel offers a nice spread of complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby in the morning. This hotel is super-convenient for any Yale-related activites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building on a high floor. If you want to get a lot of work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a very stylish hotel which is beautifully designed. The rooms and common areas are very comfortable and relaxing. The location is exceptional. Very clean and good service. The design features are beautiful but comfortable and not cold. The lounge is very welcoming as is the restaurant. We saw several people enjoying the ambiance and library books which are available for free consultation in the lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcliffridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Understated, tasteful decor with an attention to details. Beautiful, large walk-in shower. My entire experience was positive. There is a welcoming, comforting vibe that one feels upon entering. I will definitely return. It's my kind of quiet, low-key classy accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

When we entered, we saw a huge bookshelf and even more huge sculpture of spectacles--a delightful intro to a fabulous little hotel. Spare/mod decor, courteous and cultured staff, delicious and sophisticated food, all kinds of extra services and details, such as magazines in the lounge/lobby for perusing while sipping coffee and muffins for breakfast. Steps from the newly renovated and expanded Yale Museum of Art, the first rate Yale Repertory Theatre, and Atticus Books--not to mention Yale University itself. We took a guided tour of the campus--cost free and available to all. Reasonable price for this quality.

Room Tip: There are views of the campus on upper floors, north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGWCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing