We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Modern and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is clean and modern with a friendly staff, books available for purchase, and has an easy going lobby space. It is located perfectly in Downtown New Haven, next to Yale, restaurants, art galleries, and shopping. Their restaurant, Heirloom is cute and serves decent food...but is rather slow on bringing out food and the wait staff/bartenders are not as attentive as they should be. Also, the 6am Saturday morning garbage pickup is extremely disruptive.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the back of the hotel. Garbage pickup on the weekends WILL disturb you in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyButta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    178
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
243
143
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

First time there this past weekend....starting from arrival with happy valet, to a front desk with a man named Forest who was delightful and fun. Place is efficiently run...beautiful lobby with books and coffee and leather chairs...to our room which had everything you need and want in one place..sleek but not fussy...clean clean clean...and everthing is designed for function and esthetics. Loved the linen duvets and cozy square pillows....great bath room...loved the whole thing...especially a coffee bar 24/7 in lobby personed by the front desk staff....great selection of papers in the morning....I can't say enough good about this place....I really can't.. I want one in every city I do business in..would be such a joy to have that! Thank you for redefining the hotel experience in the best way possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacayStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a good experience. Most of the hotels along 95 are flee bags. This boutique property met my expectations for what they advertised. If you're in CT, stay here. Their restaurant, Heirloom, was delicious. Great selection of wines by the glass & 1/2 bottles. They have a Mac workstation in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

No words can suffice to praise this superbly-managed, unpretentious hotel in a place full of academic pretention. Staff excellent, rooms superb, spacious, sensible, big towels, excellent restaurant with stunning tomato soup, comfy beds, everything done for comfort & pleasure. I wish I could carry it everywhere I go. I will rush to return.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, the staff do their best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

In terms of location and comfort, this is probably the best hotel to stay at if you are visiting the university.

One star comes off for the price (it's a bit expensive), and the gym (it's not very nice, and doesn't have enough machines, though it has space for at least two more treadmills. In the morning it was very busy.)

I liked the small details that they thought of: the apples at the front desk, the pamphlet provided with Yale events going on that week, bottled water provided in the room, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alilu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Study is a little pricey, but it's worth it. The sheets are linen, which is just beyond. The bathrooms are designed beautifully. We got a view of Yale's Architecture school, which was beautiful. Reading the school newspaper (the oldest college daily) while looking out over the campus was a treat. Service was excellent. The staff was smart, friendly and very attentive. One of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. Highly recommend this hotel if it fits in your budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Study is only a few years old and it still feels new and fresh. The location on Chapel Street is perfect, but note that it is more toward the end of the "nice" part of that street. It is a better location than the Courtyard but less so than the Omni.

Rooms front Chapel Street or more of a "back alley". I have only stayed overlooking the back part of the hotel and did not mind it, but then again, I spent little time in the room. I think the Chapel side is a bit more pleasant though you may get more noise.

Rooms are comfortable, modern TV and iPhone docks. Bath is small but white and bright. The lobby is very cozy and overlooks the street and the Yale School of Art building. There is a small stand for coffee in the corner. The Study has an on-site, wonderful farm to table restaurant on site. You won;t go wrong eating there.

Stay here if you want a more "mod" hotel and stay at the Omni for a more traditional hotel experience. The Study tends to run $10 more/night but it is worth it if you have a preference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing