We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice...just a little pricey”
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The only thing I wish that was different about The Study is the price. A little cheaper and it would be absolutely perfect. The room was so great...the bed was the super comfortable, the bathroom was pristine, the gym was great. We were there for a wedding and had the rehearsal dinner there and the food from Heirloom is never a disappointment...the coffee in the lobby was delicious. If you want a no-nonsense stay...this is the place. The Customer Service is top notch...you could not ask for better, more attentive staff. A real gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabrinaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 803 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Study at Yale for one night. Having stayed at the same location many years ago we were astonished by the improvements to this property. The Study is a modern hotel in the style of New York boutique hotels. Our room was very comfortable and overlooked Chapel Street. The staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location on the Yale campus, close to museums, theaters and many excellent restaurants. This is an excellent place to stay when in New Haven and a significant addition to the hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano_di_Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Study is the best and only truly upscale hotel in New Haven. It is in the heart of Yale University and the best of the downtown area not far from the New Haven Green. It has a professional but not stuffy modern ambiance. The rooms are decent size and the one I had looked out on slate rooftops and open sky from the third floor. The room had a leather lounge chair, simple bureau, extended desk along the windows, king bed and small but nicely done bathroom. I had a couple of technical issues with tge phone and later with the internet. Although later at night, they immediately sent an "engineer," both of whom were able to help me quickly. The staff were all friendly and well-trained. I had both dinner and breakfast in their restsurant, Heirloom, and truly enjoyed the food. There is also a bar with lounge area with sofas as well as a small lobby with snack area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently traveled to New Haven to visit our son. We decided to stay at the Study at Yale. The reviews were right on the dot. The place is impeccable, modern, very well located, clean with very friendly hotel staff. We were assigned a third floor room facing Chapel Street which was a bit of an issued because of the street noise mostly early morning. Would probably choose a room facing Pierson College if I stay there next time

Room Tip: Room facing Pierson or Davenport and not Chapel St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having years before stayed at the predecessor hotel to the Study at Yale, I was surprised to see how the building had been totally renovated into a delightful and comfortable hotel. I particularly liked the arrangement of our room. Wish there were similar hotels in other locations where I need to stay in a hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Contemporary amenities, comfortable and cozy surroundings, this hotel fits the bill for a stay in New Haven. Great breakfast (try the blueberry pancakes), high-energy bar on the weekends, restaurant with locally sourced food. The best option in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erasmushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Love this place! Nice, cozy, well designed, not big hotel. Another bonus is that right in the middle of Yale campus, next to the Architecture School and close to Yale Galleries. The hotel is not ritzy glitzy, but really understated elegance, where it would fit into a design hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svidss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.1 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $137 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing