We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customers for life”
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Everyone in this place seems to go out of their way to make your stay a great experience.
Attentive, friendly, customer driven. Excellent value for the money.
They may need to work a bit on their door/valet staff. Had to go looking for them each time we needed to get our car, but even hen, they were courteous and prompt.
I don't plan to even consider any other alternatives as we return here several times a year to visit our students at Yale.
Book early. They fill up fast!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank DonManolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for The Study at Yale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 778 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is stylish and well designed. Everything from valet parking, check in and checking out was smooth. Very welcoming staff, helpful. Our two double bed room was gorgeous, the amenities were very nice, we weren't expecting such a standard. Small gripe though: rooms on Chapel Street are kinda noisy, try get one that looks over Campus. Beds were delightfully comfortable.
Another gripe was breakfast: service was slow and the food wasn't particularly good or interesting, even though our waitress was friendly.
It is a good twenty minute walk to get to the Yale Undergraduate Admissions Office but it is a pleasant walk. Other features aren't far away.
Overall, there isn't much to complain about this place, the price is reasonable.
I can only recommend to go Study at Yale !

Room Tip: Get a view on campus!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micr0megas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great location, in the middle of Yale. Excellent design. Spacious rooms with large windows, practically and elegantly furnished. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonello P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed at The Study several times in the past few years, and it is a much-needed addition to the hotel options in downtown New Haven. It's perfectly located for anyone visiting Yale, and its upscale, modern rooms are comfortable and clean. They all offer nice views of New Haven and the campus.

The Study allows dogs, which is good for nearby dog owners. But since I'm from the West Coast and do not travel East with my dog, I consider this a drawback. Once I was down the hall from a dog which would not stop barking!

Also restaurant service for breakfast has been slow every time I've stayed there.

Overall, however, it's a great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank casaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 night in a king room on the 7th floor. The room and bathroom are very spacious but there is only a shower, no bath! Boo. But, hot water and water pressure were good. Bed was firm and really comfortable, the desk was large and the armchair nice. But the cupboard was TINY and forced you to hang your clothes on two short knobs so there was no space to air clothes out or to not rub against each other. Thank goodness I didn't have a thick winter jacket. No room for a suitcase in the cupboard either.

The lamp lighting and one ceiling lamp are dull at night, you practically have to be under them to see. There were no power socket beside the bed which was really annoying. Also, there is an iPod dock but no radio alarm clock. I'm a huge radio fan in the evenings so this was a major issue.

Hallway wasn't busy but the noise of people going in and out of their rooms was really loud. The street is also crazy noisy with people out the front of the bars and the SIRENS constantly going to the hospital.

My booking was screwed up when I arrived and I got the impression from the person who booked me that this is a frequent problem. Breakfast arrived late I was annoyed with a lack of coffee maker in the room. The meals in Heirloom were ok but waiter can't follow simple requests like "dressing on side". Though this place was comfortable I probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't face Chapel St or the hospital, look out over campus instead.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is beautiful! Simple elegant modern design everywhere. The lobby invites you to go find a book to read, it is a very welcoming area and makes you feel at home right away. Check-in was a breeze!!!! And the room was ready even though we got there before 10:30AM. I loved everything about the room, would only add a mini fridge, specially if I were staying longer. Location is great, walking distance anywhere in the Yale campus. Amazing beds and linens, and free wifi everywhere in the hotel! I'll definitely stay at the Study at Yale again! Loved it.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. The hotel was very clean and modern and everyone was very pleasant. The rooms are on the small side and you can definitely hear other guests through the walls. The AC was on full blast and set to 50 degrees when I entered, it took a long time for the room to warm up. In the evening, my room service came promptly but without any utinsels or a napkin. My breakfast room service came a full 20 minutes after the window I had requested and I was on my way out the door (literally!) so I had to send it back. I feel like when you give guests an option to select a time window, you should honor that. Everyone was very apologetic, but I ended up skipping breakfast. So overall, just an okay stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zephyrgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $216 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing