We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable But Annoying”
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable But Annoying”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 night in a king room on the 7th floor. The room and bathroom are very spacious but there is only a shower, no bath! Boo. But, hot water and water pressure were good. Bed was firm and really comfortable, the desk was large and the armchair nice. But the cupboard was TINY and forced you to hang your clothes on two short knobs so there was no space to air clothes out or to not rub against each other. Thank goodness I didn't have a thick winter jacket. No room for a suitcase in the cupboard either.

The lamp lighting and one ceiling lamp are dull at night, you practically have to be under them to see. There were no power socket beside the bed which was really annoying. Also, there is an iPod dock but no radio alarm clock. I'm a huge radio fan in the evenings so this was a major issue.

Hallway wasn't busy but the noise of people going in and out of their rooms was really loud. The street is also crazy noisy with people out the front of the bars and the SIRENS constantly going to the hospital.

My booking was screwed up when I arrived and I got the impression from the person who booked me that this is a frequent problem. Breakfast arrived late I was annoyed with a lack of coffee maker in the room. The meals in Heirloom were ok but waiter can't follow simple requests like "dressing on side". Though this place was comfortable I probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't face Chapel St or the hospital, look out over campus instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    186
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
252
145
42
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful! Simple elegant modern design everywhere. The lobby invites you to go find a book to read, it is a very welcoming area and makes you feel at home right away. Check-in was a breeze!!!! And the room was ready even though we got there before 10:30AM. I loved everything about the room, would only add a mini fridge, specially if I were staying longer. Location is great, walking distance anywhere in the Yale campus. Amazing beds and linens, and free wifi everywhere in the hotel! I'll definitely stay at the Study at Yale again! Loved it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. The hotel was very clean and modern and everyone was very pleasant. The rooms are on the small side and you can definitely hear other guests through the walls. The AC was on full blast and set to 50 degrees when I entered, it took a long time for the room to warm up. In the evening, my room service came promptly but without any utinsels or a napkin. My breakfast room service came a full 20 minutes after the window I had requested and I was on my way out the door (literally!) so I had to send it back. I feel like when you give guests an option to select a time window, you should honor that. Everyone was very apologetic, but I ended up skipping breakfast. So overall, just an okay stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zephyrgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a fine hotel with style. Great service, rooms, location & facilities. We only have 2 issues: firstly, the rooms fronting the main road can be noisy with traffic. Secondly, both my daughter & I sneezed & suffered runny noses when in the room. This did not happen in the lobby, or outside. I don't know if it was due to the feather beds or sick house syndrome, but it wasn't hay fever & spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay (and did not happen in the other 4 hotels on this trip either).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nagoyafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My daughter and friends went to The Study at Yale. Staff was very helpful, rooms clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limlira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We continue to visit The Study. We started staying there from the day it opened. We stay at least once a month, sometimes more. The staff is amazing. They always welcome us back and, if possible, give us the same type of room with our preferred view. The hotel is well located. It is so clean and peaceful. We love the bar and especially Rob. Anthony, the Manager, is so attentive.

Room Tip: high floor, view of campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very nice hotel. It was so convenient to campus. The staff was great. We needed a vase for flowers and immediately it was brought to our room. The parking attendents were quick and responsive. It was a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing