We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midtown chic in New Haven”
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

From the moment you pull up to the valet stand at this sleek glass-and-steel building, you'd think you were at a top-notch boutique hotel in Manhattan. Attentive valet service, friendly and prompt check-in, and a sedate lobby with deep leather chairs and all the newspapers you'd need. Our immaculate room was on the small side, but the space was very well organized with clever built-ins, an elegant but compact bathroom, and a spacious desk overlooking the glistening spires of Pierson and Davenport Colleges. The prices for in-room dining were surprisingly reasonable.
This hotel is the perfect place from which to visit Yale, or for an evening of theater and dining on New Haven's vibrant Chapel St.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side (odd numbers) overlook pretty Yale University buildings, instead of the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 794 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

Best hotel in Southern CT- airy, spacious with high quality sheets and furnishings. The owner was a vice president for the W hotels, so you can expect that type of quality and feel. Chef at Heirloom worked at Nobu New York- try any of their soups in the mug (majority of their ingredients are locally sourced). Perfect location at the southwestern border of Yale, and the meeting rooms have built in A/V and the same high end touches.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Da-juiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Study at Yale is a hip, modern boutique hotel. The lobby is charming with the big open bookcase, the fresh coffee in the morning and of course the IMac and printer in the corner!
The best rooms are the ones facing Chapel Street, overlooking the Yale Art School where you can see 'artwork under construction' if in luck.....
The showers are clean, modern and very practical. I love the beds and their Frette sheets. The rooms have a decent seize and the black-out curtains are great. Free and fast wireless. Lots of Yale details throughout the hotel.
Polite staff keeps the rooms very clean, my impression was they were a bit understaffed during breakfast as we had a LONG wait for our order and instead of scrambled eggs made from eggwhite received plain scrambled eggs.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank MarinaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Ideally placed by Yale; I called 20 mins before getting in and got a room but had no breakfast included for the price and the valet parking was an extra 22 bucks. The goo thing is that there's restaurants in front that are very cheap and have decent food.
The bed linen wasincredibly soft and the bed very comfortable. They have decent HD cable channels and the room was spacious with a large shower.

Room Tip: Prepare to pay a lot and add money or extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

First of all, we were so surprised to find the Study several years after our graduation. What an improvement from the hotel that had stood in its place when we were in school! For those not familiar with New Haven, it is a great location, very central to the Yale campus. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with Frette sheets. We have stayed there on multiple occasions, including for our own wedding, and the staff has been exceptional. Yes, it is a bit pricey for New Haven, but having scoped out the other hotels in New Haven for our wedding, it is our favorite by far. The rooms are cozy, and there are Yale touches throughout the hotel, but the best place is the lobby, where it is great to meet up with family and friends, and really feels like an intimate study. This place could stand up to the best boutique hotels in Boston and New York. Well done.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms facing the campus, and for the rooms on the higher floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Study for a week as we helped our daughter move into her new apt in New Haven. This hotel is conveniently located to Yale University. The service exceeded our expectations beginning with the valet/bellman staff to the food service in the hotel restaurant/bar. We will always stay here when visiting New Haven.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very hip hotel by New Haven standards. It's not cheap, but the rooms are classy and it has higher-end amenities than you will find at many of the other hotels in town. Furnishings are modern and sleek, and the lobby is elegant and comfortable. The (expensive) restaurant is quite good and a quiet spot for a business lunch. The location is perfect if you are doing business or visiting Yale's campus--easy walking distance to pretty much anything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc12376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $198 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing