We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel. Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Study at Yale
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel. Good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our room was very clean, comfortable and relaxing - two double beds with nice linens, good bathroom and modern decor. We had a room facing the road and New Haven does seem to be a pretty noisy city (even when the students aren't around), so there was quite a lot of traffic noise/sirens etc. If you were visiting as an academic who wanted to study, I would perhaps suggest a room on the opposite side of the building for more peace and quiet. However we just switched on the aircon, which drowned it out OK. We went for a breakfast package and it was really great, a la carte and served in the restaurant. Parking is $22 per night, which seems to be the norm for New Haven but there is free wi-fi. It is in a handy location for exploring Yale campus. Good hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room overlooking campus if you need peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    184
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
250
145
41
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I (both senior citizens) were visiting family in New Haven and based on the many good reviews of The Study, decided to take a chance and give it a try. It definitely lives up to its excellent reviews. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, filled with light and decorated in a modern clean style that gave the room a refreshing airy quality. The beds were comfortable, the linens soft and the towels fluffy. The Wi Fi Internet connection, IPod dock, new flat screen TV and a large workspace facing a huge window make it a very inviting atmosphere to either relax or work. By the way, that window runs from the ceiling half way down the wall and spans the entire outside wall, providing a great view. A very effective blackout shade is thoughtfully provided to make the room nice and dark for sleeping.
The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating with kudos going to a very affable and helpful valet named either Ben or Bob. He provided a great first impression of the hotel. The valet parking, which is a little on the expensive side at $22 a night, does, however, provide a safe place off the street for the car. We liked that peace of mind, and we never waited more than a few minutes for the car.
The Study is located just around the corner from some of the charming buildings of the Yale campus, and the bustle of a university town is all around you. It’s a lively urban atmosphere, not Disneyland. The excellent location also provides for many dining choices from the Heirloom restaurant in the lobby to Thai, Irish food and pizza just across the street. We especially enjoyed the very casual Sullivan’s Pub directly across the street with their menu offering everything from corned beef (the Reuben sandwich was excellent) to burgers to fresh fish to fish and chips. Although the waitress was busy running between the outdoor seating and our indoor booth, she was friendly and provided lots of information about the menu offerings. If you are staying more than a few days, there are also two delis on the same block as the hotel to provide even more options.
Finding a hotel in a city that you don’t know is often a big gamble. We are very happy we took a chance and were delightfully rewarded. We highly recommend The Study.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Plus-
Clean, modern room, nice clean bed,beautiful bathroom ...
Negative -
Very unfriendly check in, and suspect hygine of front desk person who had on a dirty shirt and dirty tie.
No valet or bell person on site.
area was depressing....

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Study at Yale is a great hotel with a great modern boutique hotel feel despite having over 100 rooms.

1. In the heart of Chaple Street area near Yale
2. Walk to dozens of great restaurants and attractions on Yale Campus
3. Nice fitness center
4. Unique and delicious room service menu - many healthy options (get the Ivy Leaguer for breakfast you won't be disappointed)
5. Clean, Modern Rooms, and good beds
6. Good internet access

The only downside is the Valet parking can lead to waiting when they are busy, but overall it was fine.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Yale fo rless noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourbirds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I've stayed at The Study a number of times and figured that I'd write a review about my last stay.

The Good: hotel is fairly new and in good shape, great location downtown, free and fast wireless internet, comfortable beds and linens, friendly staff, great restaurant, comfortable lobby area, uses RFID room cards which I find easier to use than traditional room access cards, nice bathroom albeit small.

The OK: bathrooms are tiny, if you need a cab it can sometimes take a while for one to arrive (not a hotel problem, maybe an issue in New Haven)

The Bad: nothing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuggets00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We recently stayed here for a wedding (thus benefitted from a wedding rate of $189/night). I grew up in New Haven and for past family visits I've stayed at the Omni downtown or Marriott in Orange-- this is so much better! Great service, great location, rooms were impeccable and very cool design. We had two connecting rooms-- one with a king bed and one with two doubles. Our rooms overlooked Chapel St and the Yale School of Art. The only complaint was that it was a little noisy about 9-11PM-- even with the light-block shades drawn, but not enough to keep us from coming back. I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at this new, ultra-modern hotel and it is by far the nicest hotel in New Haven (previous stay was at The Omni). Great location for Yale campus visits, theaters, and museums. Plenty of good eateries within same block and beyond...JoJo's coffee shop on the corner, Sullivan's pub across the street (good, reasonably priced food, friendly staff) and Thai place two doors down to name a few (also try Atticus one block down for breakfast -- great bakery/ book store -- there's a few of those in the neighborhood). We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant because there are so many more reasonably-priced and casual choices nearby. The bar service on a Saturday night when they are busy is near non-existent. Restaurant staff not nearly as friendly as the rest.

Cannot say enough about their valet guys and especially loved Bobby! These guys are super friendly and hustle! Hotel staff in general was pleasant, but these guys were outstanding. Yes, valet parking is $22 a night, but that's typical for hotel valet parking which can sometimes run as high as $30 a night in some cities.

The rooms are a nice size -- comfortable, contemporary, very clean, and well-designed with the exception of the bathroom (in our particular room) which was extremely small (room for one) and poorly laid out (personally I don't like having to reach behind me to find the toilet paper roll). Just got the feeling that the bathroom design was an afterthought in this particular room. Our room faced the street on Chapel which can be loud with sirens and street traffic -- still managed to get a good night's sleep since it's not an "all night" city like NYC or others. Cudos for the best blackout shades ever installed in a hotel room! Free wifi another plus and a MAC in the lobby for guest use as well.

Overall, an excellent hotel and no contest for where we'll stay on our next visit to New Haven!

Room Tip: Stay away from street side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmd94583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.3 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Property: The Study at Yale
Address: 1157 Chapel St, New Haven, CT 06511-4806
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Study at Yale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing