We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel last year and it did not go well. The management send me a note to come back and they would fix the issues.
Well they did! It was a great stay, quiet, big room and excellent staff.

The parking garage is right there too and that is very convenient to come and go whenever you want.

I will visit here again and will stay at the Omni.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MDC0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed two nights during an unofficial recruiting trip to Yale. We were very happy with the proximity to campus and the comfortable room as well as the helpful and friendly staff. Our room was not on the campus side, we faced the ocean/city, so we heard the music from the bar located across the street until late at night. They had given us one of the highest floors upon check in, so it must have been even worse for the rooms below. I would definitely request a room on the opposite side of the building next time when making the reservation. The view from the restaurant is required. It was amazing.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was my 4-5th time staying at this particular hotel. Usually I enjoy my stay here, but the front desk service was REALLY short staffed for a busy weekend that obviously hosted at least two events (a wedding, and?) - and the person(s) working behind the desk had trouble being assertive to efficiently service guests waiting to check in AND check out. The quality of the hotel otherwise was fine; I cannot think of any other place more convenient to visit this collegiate town, and lobby area is exceptionally decorated - you feel welcomed the moment you walk in. If only they would improve on the quality and efficiency of the staff! They were friendly, but I would prefer not at the cost of my time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ayako M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and for your feedback. We truly apologize that our front desk was not as efficient during your most recent stay and will review how we can improve this for future visits. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and encourage you to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall this was a beautiful hotel. I have no complaints about the room, service, or any amenities. They only thing I didn't like was the extra $20 fee per night to park our car. After paying good money to stay in the hotel I would think parking would be something provided to guests for free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is well located and all of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are small with very uncomfortable beds and poor lighting. The carpet looked like it could use a cleaning. Though we asked for foam pillows (feather allergy) they were not in the room when we got there. For the money, i would have expected better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and regret to read that you were disappointed with your room. Please accept our apologies that we did not deliver the pillows prior to your arrival. We do our best to have requests like this taken care of and we are sorry that in your case we missed the opportunity. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and our location and we hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This Omni Hotel delivers what it promises -- excellent service, nicely appointed room, perfect location. We stayed here during a recent Yale reunion and found the entire experience to be positive from start to finish.

Room Tip: If you're coming for a reunion, you might want the nostalgia of a room with a view of the campus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I would say based on Omni's reputation, they fell short with this hotel. I attended a conference for LPL. Staff was not very engaged or happy. My room was damp and musty. Exercise room was average. No pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We are sorry to read that you weren't happier with your recent stay at our hotel. If you return, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable. It would be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $172 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing