We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel-poor matress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Overall experience very good. Davenports restaurant excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Comfortable bar. Only downside was poor mattress which I didn't report because of only being there two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Fesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
There are newer reviews for Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very loud heating system; bathroom next door adjacent to my bed. Musty smell and tired looking furnishings. Over priced for value. Many small mistakes re room level, housekeeping, room service etc. Breakfast mediocre. Plus, unless you join their guest program, hotel charges for wi-fi in room (tacky). Best part was staff--quite friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies that you did not have a more pleasant experience. We always encourage guests to contact us while still in house so we can immediately address any concerns. We do appreciate your compliments of our associates and w hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

So so hotel, so so service. Not much of a value. Service here reactive not active. Clean enough, but don't expect anything special. Convenient parking, but expensive. Not always hot water available. Location reasonably good for Yale University visitors. Breakfast on the 19th floor has a nice view, but once more so so quality and service. Staff needs a lot better training. You won't be terribly unhappy, but a very forgettable hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Loring K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We want our guests to feel like their expectations have been exceeded and we are disappointed to read that in your case we barely met the mark. We always welcome detailed feedback on how we can improve. If you stay with us again please let us know how we can make your next stay more enjoyable. It would be our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Have stayed here before over the years and it remains the premier option for a large hotel in New Haven. Comfortable, friendly, convenient - a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. Unless you are on a tight budget, this is the best place to stay if visiting Yale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is a tear-down or perhaps requires total renovation if they can get away with it. The lobby is dark and gloomy using a brownish decor that went out of stye decades ago. The bedrooms have hideous furniture and ripped sheers with bathrooms so badly designed that your toothbrush is always falling in the toilet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were not more satisfied with your recent stay and that the style of our recently updated property did not suit your tastes. If you consider a return stay, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your time with us more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was a guest in the Omni hotel. It is a great hotel with good location next to the green. The hotel is really clean, the beds are more than comfortable and the price is fair! The rooms are equipped with Iron, a safe and mini bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orbachr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was a guest in this hotel on "Graduation Weekend" at Yale; the location, just a block or so away from the campus, was ideal for my needs.

The hotel, while not "ultimate luxury," which I don't seek anyway, was excellent. Not only was my room spotlessly clean, wonderfully quiet and well serviced each day, I also enjoyed a lovely view of the "New Haven Green" with its several church steeples peeking above the thick foliage of the many trees and the facade of the aforementioned "Old Campus" beyond.

Breakfast on the hotel rooftop overlooking "The Green" was--well, "breakfast!"...eggs, bacon, etc., prepared as requested with skilled and cordial service. Our party didn't eat other meals there; so I'm not qualified to write of that.

Would I return? Yes, and likely will when the next grandchild graduates!

Room Tip: See my review for a tip on choosing a room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarose1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $180 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing