We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, United States
2 reviews
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

On a Friday night, the local bars give a lot of noises, but the hotel overall is very clean and nice and is a good place to stay. The price of John Davenport food is a bit on the higher side. But overall, the quality of food is good and the service is nice. The friendliness of everybody in this hotel is A+

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anuran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    408
    200
    88
    30
See reviews for
325
232
72
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
262 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Maybe this is one of the best hotels in New Haven but this says more about the competition than the hotel itself. To be fair, nothing really wrong here. It would have been a nice hotel -- 20 years ago. But today it simply feels outdated. Another reviewer captured the soul of the place perfectly: boring. Dark wood and dark wallpaper that would have been high end in the 80s or 90s. The bathroom door was splintered, the beds sagging. You pay extra for wi-fi and parking. Pros: Refrigerator, with a couple of water bottles (I didn't use them, so I don't know if they charge you for it). Nice service staff. The hotel is in easy walking distance of Yale. The neighborhood it's in though feels really run down, lots of panhandlers. All in all, for a business trip to New Haven, the Omni is an okay place to see but I would not consider it a "destination hotel".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Your comments are important to us as we look for ways to improve our hotel and the area around us. If you return to New Haven, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is probably the best hotel in New Haven, but must also be one of the most boring ones. The location is good and the rooms are nice and clean, but the place have no soul. It looks like hundreds of similar hotels with standard hotel interior. The menu is equally boring with very standard hotel food. Extremely nice and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Sign up as a member and get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasse_Andreassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While we are delighted to read that you found our staff to be very hospitable we are disappointed that you did not feel like your overall stay exceeded your expectations. We are always look for ways to improve our offerings and would welcome more detailed feedback from you. If you return to New Haven, we hope for an opportunity to welcome you back for a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

If you're going to be staying in New Haven CT, you'll want to stay at the Omni. It's in the center of town and close to everything (Especially the bars). The hotel itself is decent, and the lobby is refreshing. To be picky, I would say that the rooms could use a slight update to match the price we paid. Other than that, I would have no problem staying here again if I was returning to spend a night in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DohertyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Convenient hotel with many great places to eat nearby, but the hotel could use a good cleaning and upgrade of its rooms. Bathrooms were ok and everything worked. Within walking distance to most attractions at Yale.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Omni New Haven. We regret to read that you were disappointed with your room. Our rooms were renovated in 2013 and we adhere to the highest standards of cleanliness. We will share your comments with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure that we are fully executing the room inspection process and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel was perfect in every way. The location is convenient, the staff is excellent and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. This is a perfect choice for Yale family members that would like to walk to campus. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 62valeriew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was to be a joyous occasion, and would not choose this hotel if we had to do again. We were able to check in our room 15 minutes before the wedding. The pan handlers that are allowed to confront guests at the front door is intolerable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to speak with you directly. As we discussed, due to your morning arrival, the room that you had requested was still occupied. We did our best to make it available to you quickly after that guest departed and apologize that it was so close to the time you needed to be at the ceremony. We understand your frustration but hope that in the end you felt that all efforts were made to accommodate you. It was a pleasure to speak with you directly and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
16.7 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Property: Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Address: 155 Temple St., New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing