We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietest Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
allentown,pa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quietest Hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

visited the Hotel recently and I believe it was the most quiet "urban" hotel I have ever not heard. All employees encountered were very friendly. Good Job, first class hotel. My advise, Valet park. it is only 5 bucks more than self park in muni garage and they are quick returning your car.

Room Tip: If possible get a room facing Yale. A little higher up works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patm610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    452
    227
    94
    33
See reviews for
374
247
80
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here one night and got a very good price on Priceline - if we had not, I would have been upset as the rooms are not worth the price they charge. The room was small and the bathroom was not up to snuff as it had a very odd layout and a broken soap dish. I was somewhat surprised by the lack of quality. The rooms are not well insulated, so you hear a lot of noise from the street. we were on an upper floor not on the street side and could still here the noise from the bars on the main street. They provide complimentary ear plugs - you need them or a white noise app on your phone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here to visit my child at Yale. Had previously stayed at the Marriott. This is a far superior experience. everyone was pleasant, and my stay was flawless. Plus, if you use the fitness center, this one is great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Omni hotel in New Haven was really nice, dinner was great and the spa was . We missed the brunch as we arrived to early but it looked wonderful. The hotel room had a very nice view of the green and Yale campus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank eleabetht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I reserved the Omni for a family weekend visit. First clue things were much better than the New Haven Hotel: the reception staff was warm and a request for adjoining rooms was no problem. If you join their "Select Guest" system, there are lots of nice perks such as free wifi and shoe cleaning (great in winter!). The hotel is right in the Yale/Downtown area so easy to walk everywhere. People are all the entrance over offering assistance with everything from parking to bags (worth the tips). Beds are comfortable with pillow choices; bathrooms are well equipped and clean; soundproofing is very good. All one could ask for in a typical American hotel. Note: If you work for a state or federal government institution (even a state university as I do) the discounted rate is better than the cheaper chain hotels in the suburbs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophelia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

In both of my stays, I have been awakened numerous times between 11 p.m. and 2:30 a.m. by guests talking loudly in the hallways and room doors slamming shut. Other guests complained of the same, saying it was awful. The hotel has no signs posted to request respect of those sleeping - not in the elevators and not in the hallways. Instead, they provide earplugs for the guests. I, personally, find it unsafe to sleep with one's ability to hear impaired by earplugs. The earplugs are on bedside table when you arrive. It's not a good indicator that they have addressed the issue well. I find the decor in the rooms drab but the hotel overall is satisfactory. The mattresses, pillows, and linens are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for an SOM event. It's very convenient to campus which is why it's about the only option without a car. Room was NYC small and we were chared for wifi even though we told the front desk we are select guest members (for which wifi is free). I called the front desk several times and no one answered. The cafe in the lobby is good for snacks and coffee. Rooms are very clean. If you're sensitive to street/bar noise ask for earplugs or a room higher up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jilly_J_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We'd like to offer our sincere apologies that you were charged for wifi and that the removal of the charges were not better handled by our front office. If these charges have not yet been removed, please let us know and we will make sure they are taken care of.

We do appreciate that you also let us know what you enjoyed about your stay and I truly hope that we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay that meets all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Property: Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing