We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Omni Hotel, New Haven to attend her niece's wedding. The wedding rehearsal were held at the chapel and and the rehearsal dinner on the top floor of the hotel with great view. The room was more than adequate and having the ironing board helped with wrinkled clothes for the wedding itself. The staff was more than helpful and very accommodating what with three wedding parties going on the same weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get the room facing the harbor for good view at night on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahim0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    444
    218
    93
    33
See reviews for
366
245
76
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waldoboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I felt invisible at this hotel. No response when I spoke to 3 people about having my room cleaned. The room was empty from 9:30am to 3:30pm. Also a screw up with breakfast room service. The heating/cooling was hard to figure out so we were cold for much of the stay. The bathtub with chipped and the paint over it was bubbling. The carpets looked worn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lapses in service and frustration you experienced. There are no excuses for not meeting let alone not exceeding your expectations. The issues you have went through will be further investigated with our team in order to make sure what happened in your case is not repeated. Our service culture is all about warmth and engagement in conversations with our guests and we are disappointed you were not able to experience this first hand. We would welcome the opportunity to gain more feedback from you and find out ways we can better meet your expectations. Our Director of Rooms can be reached directly by email at rjnasser@omnihotels.com for further discussions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay here a few times a year and always have most pleasant experience. I stay in hotels 16-19 days a month and this is one of my favorites. As an Omni member the benefits and the service is excellent. The front desk clerk, Tanieka, was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I had been traveling for 30 hours, and just wanted a beer and to go to sleep. Tanieka had one delivered to my room for no charge. The customer service here is delightful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I found this hotel very enjoyable for a visit to Yale. Walking distance to the campus which is very convenient. The staff are remarkably friendly both at the front desk, doorman, and those in the restaurant. The hotel infrastructure needs some updating. Room a little drab but the bed had a list to the left side. Sometimes it was a bit noisy near the elevator so I guess I understand why they give you ear plugs. Overall though the staff made the visit very good

Room Tip: choose a room facing the campus as opposed to the one facing the less optimal side of New Haven
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelandtravail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The people who work at this hotel are cheereful, nice and went out of their way to help me. I stayed here alone, and walked to my meetings every morning on the Yale campus. Very convenient. The room was a nice size, very clean, the linens are soft and the beds very comfortable. My room had a beautiful view of the campus also.

I agree with other reviewers, the Internet access wasn't so great. And the room service (the food) wasn't fantastic either, but overall I had a very good stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecafCapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked rooms for ourselves and wedding party the night before and night of our wedding. From check in to check out, everything was perfect. They gave my bridal party adjoining rooms and greatly extended check out time the next day to allow us to finish getting our hair and makeup done. They allowed me to check in early to the room my husband and I would uave so I could move my things there. The manager at the hotel restaurant new we were getting married that day and surprised us by sending mimosas and chocolate covered strawberries to the room that morning. We were beyond shocked and told7ched. We can't say enough good things. We also had a wonderful time wt ajohn davenports which is in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After receiving great recommendations (of omni in general not this particular location) from multiple friends and family members we decided to give it a shot and book this location for our upcoming trip to CT. Thank God we didn't go past the call to reservations!
We have a toddler so we wanted a room for the three of us. Not only the reservation agent was very unprofessional, we were told we will need two rooms! We wanted a room with two double beds and the lady told us the limit is 2 people for those type of rooms! Seriously?! That's RIDICULOUS!!
I asked then for a suite, unfortunately this location doesn't offer them, they also DON'T offer military/government rate, even though the website says they do, they forgot to mention that not at every location!
Well the search is on for us to find a FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel for our trip to CT!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank km19862003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
574 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Property: Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing