We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed for college reunion weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I opted for a hotel stay versus dorm room for my recent college reunion, and the Omni fit the bill perfectly. Close to campus, and yet a bit removed. Able to manage my very early bag drop-off and very late check-in. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Friendly and helpful staff. Nothing that didn't work or caused problems during my total of seven short hours at the hotel. The hotel isn't particularly luxurious or unique, but I was thankful that they met my needs as well as they did, especially during a weekend when they were very busy with reunions, proms, and other events, and it might have been easy to drop the ball.

Room Tip: I stayed on the eighth floor, and had a lovely view of the New Haven skyline, with Yale's beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here in mid-May 2013. My room was on the 15th floor, which has an amazing view, simply beautiful. However. The room has a distinct and unmistakable smell of mold, which was surprising considering the room cost (>$200 per night). Its just strong enough to annoy you when you walk into the room. After 10-15 minutes, you adjust, but it is really a turn off. The whole hotel is booked up or i would ask to change rooms. The windows to the room don't open at all; an otherwise minor annoyance made more serious because you cannot air out the place. Again, the location in the very center of New Haven and right against Yale is very very nice, and may over-ride other concerns.

Room Tip: The low even numbers (e.g. -04, -06, etc) face a pretty nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stubby_galavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the OMni New Haven Hotel at Yale for Mother's Day, to visit my son. From the moment we walked in, we knew we would like our stay, from the first warm greeting by the front desk to the bell staff, who offered helpful dinner suggestions--all within walking distance! The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. I'd skip the brunch the next time--too pricey and not very good--but the view from the restaurant is wonderful. The location was fabulous! Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to get a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for spending Mother's Day weekend at the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are glad you were provided with great dinner suggestions so you could enjoy your time in our city. Thank you for reviewing us and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The service is very good. The staff is very friendly and welcoming:from the front desk that I spoke to on the phone to the doorman. Our room was very clean, quite and well equiped. The beds are really comfortable and the sheets are what you would expect from a nice hotel.It was on the 17th floor and we had a great view of the the green and the rest of the city. I would stay there again if I had to visit the city. However breakfast at the hotel is not reliable as space is limited and you are better off going somewhere else but we did get complimentary coffee and juice as room service. Nice Touch!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the green and the church have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valere81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are delighted to read that you found all of our associates at the Omni New Haven to be friendly and welcoming. We always appreciate the opportunity to read guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff. Very courteous and efficient. The Filipino front desk girl.... I think her name is Aubrey. She is a class act. Staff like this make the stay special. The doorman was great too. Love the place. Not the swankiest place but then it is very comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stansthanunathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We appreciate your review and your compliments of Aubrey. We look forward to recognizing her for a job well done and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made a last minute decision to relax in and tour New Haven, especially the Yale area. We had no reservations and just drove to New Haven and went to the front desk at the Omni. The clerk was able to locate a pleasant room, although it had two doubles rather than our preferred queen sized bed, as these were sold-out. We found our stay pleasant, the restaurant on the 19th floor excellent with lovely views and our overall stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Eat in the dining room on the 19th floor for dinner. Try to get a room with a view of the Yale cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your impromptu decision to stay at the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return for another getaway soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The service given at the Omni is the kind of service I usually get from expensive European hotels. Everyone from the doorman (who remembered me after a year away!), to the front desk staff to the front desk manager to the IT people are super helpful and just want to make your stay as wonderful as possible. I was having internet access problems and the manager came to my room and stayed until the problem was resolved. The breakfast on the 19th floor is very good, hot not just buffet and made to order if you'd like. While the rooms may seem dated, the ameneties are great and you are treated like an adult with a real hair dryer that isn't attached to the wall. The bed sleeps wonderfully. This is the only place I stay when I'm in New Haven.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor to enjoy the great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christmas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni New Haven. We are pleased to read that the service you received at our hotel ranked us among the finest hotels. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again the next time you are in New Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
601 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
2.9 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $190 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing