We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent response by manager on duty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent response by manager on duty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Omni at Yale for two nights. When we had some trouble controlling the heat in our room we asked to speak to the manager on duty. She offered to move us to another room. We told her that we were really quite settled in for the night and would prefer to stay put. The manager on duty, Ali Lovi, told us that she would send up maintenance personnel immediately and that she would accompany them. Two maintenance men and Ms. Lovi arrived promptly and determined the best solution available. The room cooled down adequately within the hour. Ms. Lovi also wrote a very nice handwritten note that we received under our door the next morning along with certificates for all four of us to enjoy the breakfast buffet on the 19th floor. We travel frequently and rarely encounter such effective problem resolution. Our compliments to the staff of the Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale and specifically to Ms. Ali Lovi whose response and actions resulted in us leaving the hotel as happy customers. The location of this hotel is ideal for visiting Yale University. The front desk will also provide a nice list of restaurants in the area upon request. We enjoyed a wonderful Ethiopian restaurant one night and a Turkish restaurant the second night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimWBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was a pleasure for us to read your review and this reinforces how fortunate we are to have Ali as one of our managers. We are thrilled that she was able to quickly resolve your concerns and provide you with a great stay. We look forward to recognizing her for a job well done. If you return to New Haven, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    382
    188
    81
    25
See reviews for
295
220
64
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

In terms of room and facility, this Omni is between 3 and 4 stars. A little older, elegant and nice. The location is great for visiting Yale. Yale campus is all within walking distance. From the hotel room's window, we had a nice view of Yale campus. A busy burger joint named Prime 16 is just across the street.

The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful.

If you are visiting Yale or New Haven, this Omni is a solid choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collector_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your review and are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. If you return to New Haven, we hope you will once again consider us for your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Here for a conference at Yale. Room surprisingly nice with thoughtful details: a Siamese fighting fish to keep me company! Robes are nice to have, and earplugs are provided. An ice bucket full of ice is at the ready, as is a chocolate marshmallow. Granite bath counters a nice touch, while other furnishing are generic but adequate. Definitely can recommend this if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation of the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales Center, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. The staff is always incredibly helpful. The rooms do need some updating but I do enjoy the historic theme. The rooms have always been clean but this time I did notice a musty odor. The location is awesome--close to Yale, great restaurants. The hotel's restaurant is a bit over-priced but the service is awesome and the view is spectacular

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPR14169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty to the Omni New Haven and are glad you enjoyed your experiences with us. We do apologize if there is was an odor in your room during your most recent stay. When you return, do not hesitate to alert us to any issues so that we can make sure they are quickly addressed. Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel provided me with a great location for the business I had in New Haven. The room was adequate and clean. The staff was great! Parking was ok. They should provide their guests with wifi without a charge, kind of crazy not to! Beds were not that comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Omni New Haven Hotel. If you return, we would like to encourage you to sign up for our complimentary Select Guest Program. One of the many perks is free wifi in your guest room. Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent one night there for work. The lobby looks great and the exterior of the building looks classy, but the rooms were old and need upgrading. The air conditioning did not work. The elevators were very slow after waiting 5 mins for an elevator I gave up and took the stairs. The security staff was rude, room service screwed up my order . I would not stay here again even for free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are extremely disappointed to read about your experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations or our own standards. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further so we may learn in more detail what may have happened. Thank you for sharing your valuable comments and we hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Run down bathrooms, wallpaper and moldings. Needs a facelift. For the price charged they should be ashamed. Ear plugs by the bedside....really?, I have stayed in a true city...NYC and have never seen this in all my trips. The noise at the Omni from the outside bars is unacceptable. Can here the yelling college kids till 2:30am. The hotel needs new windows to prevent guests from being kept up to all hours of the night. Would never return here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAD1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate all of your comments and regret that you didn't have a better experience at our property. Your feedback is a valuable way for us to understand how we can improve our service. We hope that you will reconsider a future stay with us so that we can provide you with the luxury experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Haven hotels
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.4 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Property: Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing