We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick of the litter....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unfortunately there are not too many options in New Haven for higher end hotels, so the Omni is one of very few options in the center of town. I have stayed here several times and found a large difference in the experience based on the room. The last stay in a corner room was very nice, the bathroom appears to have been slightly updated and the normally noisy heater / air conditioner was not as bad as in the others, and the room was larger. Which is to say that in the other rooms, the rooms were small, bathroom in need of renovation and so forth.

They seem to be doing some work on the building renovating the restaurant / retail space on the street level and there may be some good options moving in, but for now it is mostly space available signs, but no matter because as they say location, location, location - and this hotel has it. There are many small and good restaurants near by with options that will meet any need you have within easy walking distance.

Because there are not that many options in the center of New Haven I have found that the hotel is completely booked when there are any University events, so if you are coming for one you really need to book early. It isn't a great hotel, that is partially due to the aging building but the staff is pleasant enough in a very busy place, and did I mention location, location, location?

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be an upgrade but worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are glad you enjoy the location of our hotel and find it to be the best option for those traveling to New Haven. We are always trying to make updates to our property to better serve our guests and hope that you will continue to see improvements during future stays with us. Thank you for choosing Omni and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
There are newer reviews for Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is in the best location in New Haven. It is on the older side but the updates are modern looking. We ate breakfast in the restaurant in the 19th floor and it was very nice with a great view. When in the area I will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emtrip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay at the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our breakfast options. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Omni New Haven Hotel during the New Haven Open. The room was clean and comfortable and service was fine. My only complaint would be that the late night band music across the street was quite loud. My husband enjoyed the pizza and beer at the Kitchen ZINC artisan pizza and bar, the sangria was not so good ( just a couple blocks away). Our whole family really enjoyed the Geronimo Tequila Bar and Southwest grill also just a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side facing the street where the local music is played.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otgwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any noise from the surrounding area. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know that you prefer to be in a quieter area of the hotel and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wanted a place close to City Hall for our civil marriage on New Years Eve. The Onmi was closest, and within a short walk from other places to eat, etc. I have traveled a lot, coast to coast by car even, and this hotel was on par with a good Holiday Inn, with a better looking lobby.

We got a nice web deal for about $130 a night and I feel it was a good price.

When Laura at the desk learned we were there for marriage, she congratulated us and sent up some complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! Gratefully Accepted. Actually all hotel staff was were gracious and kind.

The only negative would be that their was a dog that barked quite a bit in the morning at 8:30 am. Though we were up and heading out by then, it may have woken others on the 8th floor.

Room Tip: I have heard the higher floors are better when wanting to avoid city noise. We were on the 8th floor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special weekend! We are delighted that our staff could make your time with us more enjoyable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent the weekend with our dog. The service from arrival to departure was outstanding. Christopher, at the front desk, bumped us up to a suite with a great view of the Green and Yale when I complained about our original 5th floor room with a parking lot view (the upgrade was not free but was definitely worth the extra $50 per night). The re-opened Yale Art Gallery (free) is worth a visit - give yourself lots of time, as there are four floors spread out over two buildings. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at nearby Basta. And, it was a pleasure to return to our room(s) each day. Our recently adopted shelter dog (first time in a hotel) loved it too.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Green side
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmtw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We appreciate your complimentary review of the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are delighted that Christopher and our other associates took great care of you and your newest furry family member. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with him and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

In 2012 I had 302 hotel nights, all business related and most were 30+ days. The stays included Hyatts in Los Angeles and downtown Chicago, both fine hotels. However, the staff and accommodations here at Omni New Haven have been FAR superior. The few minor "hiccups", and with all long term stays there's bound to be a few "hiccups", have been handled quickly and professionally. And all have been followed-up with a call to insure I'm completely satisfied with the resolution. The hotel's location is a short walk (1-2 blocks) from many of New Haven's fine restaurants and other local attractions. I, most often, travel with my dog and many of the staff even know him by name. That's a nice touch. And it's those types of attention to details that convince me to give this hotel my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner king room facing the Yale campus.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrentdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your generous recommendation of the Omni New Haven at Yale. It was our pleasure to provide you with a great stay and we hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a week here before staying with family. Our stay included Friday and Saturday evenings.

Be warned - we had a 5th floor room on the front of the hotel and the sound from the night club opposite could be heard clearly till the early hours. If you go to bed early this could well be an issue.

It was cold outside and the insulation on the windows was poor as the cold air could be felt coming through the windows. We were not convinced about the efficiency of the heating/cooling system in the room. Having said this the room was big and comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped and newly refurbished. Breakfasts were excellent but if you have the breakfast buffet every morning it will comfortably add 50 dollars on to your bill every day. It is well worth becoming a Gold member of the hotel before arrival as it gives you free wi-fi during your stay.

The location is great. Yale campus is well worth a visit. Need to be careful as there are lots of beggars around town especially after dark.

Parking expensive at 23 dollars per night including tax. Cheaper public garages available nearby.

Nice hotel, not cheap but classy. Be careful on the extras if you are watching the pennies.

Room Tip: Don't go low down at the front if you want a quiet night especially at weekends
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyabraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We appreciate all of your feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed most of your time with us but regret that you experienced some noise from the downtown area. If you return, and we hope you will, we would be happy to place you in a room in a quieter area of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: $179 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing