We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful luncheon surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caseus

Caseus
Ranked #9 of 551 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Van Wert, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful luncheon surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A business acquaintance in New Haven took me to lunch in this wonderful place. The soup special was outstanding, and the "New Englanda" sandwich was fabulous. Very nice, "local," atmosphere without any crazy pretention. Wait staff was pleasant and attentive. It may be worth a trip back to New Haven just to try dinner here. And, while I love cheeses, I didn't have time that day. What cheese I had on my sandwich was super.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    58
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went here on a warm fall evening and sat outside. We had to wait a bit for our table, but that was expected. The wait staff could not have been more helpful, attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and just plain pleasant! The food was fantastic. We had a cheese board, the mac n cheese, the cheeseburger and the scallops special all wonderful! Then we had two desserts creme brûlée and a chocolate pot w/ candy in the whipped cream! Great selection of tasty wines and beer! My new favorite spot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best cheese selection in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A terrific little gem of a place. The cheese selection is literally beyond any store in the region, with a friendly helpful, knowledgeable staff to help make your selection. Selections - because you will find yourself trying all sorts of the new varietals! There is also a wonderful small cafe with salads and tasting platters. Yummy scrummy; I only wish it were three blocks closer to my house!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldogNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“caseus is excellent indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

While many people brag a lot about how good many of the new haven eateries, i had my share of disappointments. Caseus was not one of them! Nice food, well served, in a nice atmosphere. It is a bit pricey, yes, but I haven't yet had a better meal in New Haven.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Caseus does not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have been dying to get to Caseus...finally got there, and it did not disappoint. Everyone that works there is very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable.
We had the cheese board, which was delicious and the lobster roll that was unreal! Truly the best lobster roll I ever had...served with shrimp on a fresh brioche roll...awesome!
The house red wine was excellent, and the wine and beer choices are awesome.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caseus also viewed

 

Been to Caseus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing