We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal- order the special breads!”
Review of Caseus

Caseus
Ranked #13 of 559 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious meal- order the special breads!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a terrific place! The food is wonderful with a focus on local produce. Their cheese shop is next to the restaurant and the cheeses served in the restaurant are wonderful. I have dined there several times. Most recently we sat at the bar and had the cheese and charcuterie boards with an order of their special breads. Delicious ! Wine selections are great and service is friendly and knowledgable. Yes service is a little slow when they are busy but it is worth the wait. Make sure you make a reservation for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    59
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you're a fan of cheese and wine, you need to stop by Caseus! The restaurant has a quaint atmosphere and the food is delicious! Stop by the cheese shop to purchase some fine cheeses.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JenJF5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love cheese”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm only rating the cheese shop, I've never eaten at the restaurant. They are very friendly and have a wide variety of cheeses. I stop by there every few weeks and try a bunch of cheeses before choosing one to purchase. They are relatively expensive, but that's to be expected from a boutique cheese shop...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheese, Cheese and more Cheese!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Portions are huge and can easily be split between 2 people. Server was very knowledgeable about menu, but service tended to be a little slow during lunch time with receiving appetizers and drink refills. Food was very good, however.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MYF1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An interesting restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I happened into this spot accidently. I was actually looking for some specialty cookies I bought at the one of the local farmer's markets (which I missed today) and in searching the internet for these cookies I found this restaurant, which also hosts a specialtiy cheese/ hors d' oeuvres shop. So off I went. The restaurant is very close to my home, but I had never been there before.

As it was, they did have the cookies, but not in the flavor I wanted. I ended up buying some speciality cheese and crackers. They were having their annual barbecue, so I decided to try the hot dog with local hot pepper relish and the cole slaw. I also had a glass of their sangria.

The food was a bit pricey, as was the sangria...$5 for the hot dog, $2 for the side of coleslaw, $9 for the sangria, but it was a large glass. It was VERY good. I found out that they buy local products and specialty meats, such as free range chicken and beef.They advertise that they "use sustainable and local ingredients". I love hot dogs and am picky about them...This one was very good. The cole slaw was not your standard cabbage/carrot heavily dressed slaw but was kale, carrots and onions with a light vinigrette type of dressing.The sangria was deep red,. I was not familiar with the wine that was used as the base. It was good, but heavy., not sweet, not effervescent.

I found the staff to be friendly and they went out of ther way to make me comfortable. I was traveling alone. I sat outside and it was quite pleasant. One of the other diners had the cheeseburger ($6), which he said was also very good. This barbecue is somethng they do annually and not part of their regular offerings. Be prepared to spend a little to eat here, but do remember, quality costs! They offer lunch and dinner

The inside areas are smalll. Reservations for table inside are highly suggested. You do not need a reservation to sit outside or at the bar, but the areas are small. The menu is on the website.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caseus also viewed

New Haven, CT
 

Been to Caseus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing