We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just adding my vote of "excellent"”
Review of Long Wharf Theatre

Long Wharf Theatre
Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in New Haven
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A theatre that features Broadway shows.
Nehalem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just adding my vote of "excellent"”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Worth a visit on a trip from anywhere. Too bad there isn't a top rating of "outstanding". Had season passes every year when we lived locally, and was never disappointed. The opportunity to listen to/talk with directors and cast is one everyone should take at least once.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beachgranny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good theatre, fantastic treatment by staff”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My mother and I enjoyed a performance here that was both entertaining and stimulating. The theatre is well-designed, and the production was solid, though it was only the second preview night, with some excellent acting.

The bad news is that we discovered New Haven's weakness - taxis. We got one from downtown to the theatre (the restaurant we dined in called for us), but when we called after the performance, no taxi was forthcoming. That's when the "fantastic treatment by staff" came into play. The Front of House Manager made multiple calls to multiple companies for us - and eventually actually drove us back to our hotel herself - all with great graciousness. Other staff was friendly as well. We left with a good feeling about the whole ethos of the place....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LVPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My favorite theater . Not a bad seat in the house. Many shows end up on Broadway, often famous actors and directors. Not always my taste, but I always enjoy going. Great small theater and great small staff

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rugosaNewHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small venue, great shows!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have seen several productions at this theater. It is a small theater, kind of in the round seating . The closest seat to the production area actually say right at the edge of the performance area. I don't believe there is an actual "stage"'. There is a center "performance" area. The performers in some of the shows actually interact with the audience.

There is plenty of parking at this location and a good family style restaurant next door.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I chair a theatre company in NYC and see a lot of off-bway in Manhattan. LWT is a) a great theater physically (particularly after the recent renovation and b) consistently puts on top quality shows with great actor and direction.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Wharf Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Long Wharf Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing