We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around New Haven
from $25.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
338
165
32
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
338
165
32
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discovery room dinosaur bones mineral collection machu picchu dinosaur hall children and adults all ages leaf cutter ants gift shop rainy day third floor interesting exhibits three floors exhibits change on display great collection across the street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 539 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2019

From when I was a child this is one of the most fascinating places to visit
It is such an easy relaxing atmosphere right here in our own backyard
This is such a gift given to all that live in the New Haven area and each time you visit its almost as good as the first

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

This has been my go to place for learning .i brought my children when they were small and now my grandchildren. It is fun, safe and entertaining. I wish that there was more change in the exhibits. as not a lot has changed in 35 years of visiting. One exhibit that all love is the leaf cutter ants in the kids room. This area of New Haven is safe and parking is right across the street. There are discount passes for admission at many of the libraries. I believe one day of the week is free admission

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank ckbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

Spend a day, spend an hour, no matter how long you spend there is sufficient material to keep your interest. Concentrate on one of the exhibit halls, or tour the whole museum quickly, you get to see the best of what the museum has to offer. My favorites are the paleontology hall located right off the entrance and the gem and mineralogy hall on the third level. But, there are exhibits for bird lovers, nature enthusiasts, ecologists, and a children's discovery center with live creatures to handle. Be advised, except for the dinosaurs, they have an amazing amount of material to exhibit, so the exhibits change frequently. The current on is on gold, with magnificent pieces as well as the equipment needed to get it out of the ground. Those with young children can plan on staying an hour plus, those with longer attention spans can spend hours.

Located on the edge of the Yale campus, there is limited parking diagonally across the street as well as public parking. And, it is good for any day, not just those which are rainy.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JHAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018 via mobile

My sister and I were recently in New Haven for a wedding. We had some time and walked to the Peabody Museum. What a relaxing afternoon. We took our time wandering around enjoying a variety of exhibits. We especially enjoyed the students around the area explaining what we were seeing.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

A very extensive and well laid out museum in commodious halls at three levels. Too much to see in one day. If one has to cover all the areas to see all the exhibits,artefacts & read the elaborate captions,it would be have to be covered over at least four visits. A historic treasure trove of collections . There are volunteers too help the visitors. A must for all visitors to New Haven,

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank sapraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews