We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm into history just like my dad.”

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a diverse collection ranging from Indian artifacts to Egyptian art to a large bird collection.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm into history just like my dad.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

So great for me. Egyptian artifacts. Great display regarding the history of coffee. I know I'm a geek. So many great items for a small town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lhoylern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    126
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
365 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great museum... Lions and tigers and bears, oh my and dinosaurs too.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Lions and tigers and bears, oh my and dinosaurs too...great museum and interesting exhibits... And the great hall painting is just amazing...
Highly recommend and young kids will love the dinosaur exhibit.. The souvenir shop has great mementos for all especially for the Dino lovers ...
Enjoy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJFlash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A fabulous little museum with big dinosaurs”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Children and adults will be fascinated by the exhibits in this fabulous museum. The dinosaurs and exhibits related to evolution are stellar and there are often special exhibitions curated by experts from Yale University. The gift shop is full of wonderful, relatively inexpensive items for children and adults alike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMAPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Been going for 35 years, still great and additions each visit bring me back for more”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place has it all....from dinosaurs to meteors, mummy's to a Dodo bird. If you want to learn about birds, prehistoric creatures, enjoy the architecture of the very building you get to explore and see diamonds, rubies, and geodes in person...this is the spot for you.

The museum gift shop has many great treasures too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little kids love the dinosaurs!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I remember going here as a kid and being wowed by the dino skeletons. Many years later I brought my niece and nephew, and they, too, couldn't get enough of the bones! Some of the exhibits could use some updating and are showing their age (I'm looking at you, dioramas of animal habitats), but who are we kidding? The Peabody is all about the dinosaurs, and they are as impressive as ever.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank da0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing