We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in New Haven, CT”

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a diverse collection ranging from Indian artifacts to Egyptian art to a large bird collection.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Jewel in New Haven, CT”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This museum, in my opinion, rivals Museum of Natural History in NYC. Easy to get to in downtown New Haven, CT. There is adequate free parking adjacent to the museum. Impressive stone building. Dinosaur rooms are currently being remodeled, check with the museum for completion date. Extensive gem and mineral exhibits. There is a nominal entrance charge, but I believe it is free on Thursday. You name it they have it; birds, insects, mammals, everthing. Well worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toni112950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    129
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“BEST DINOSAUR EXHIBIT EVER”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is one of the better museums I have been to. Definitely use the audioguide, the museum would not have been as interesting without it and it allows you to go into more in depth information regarding some of the exhibits. I found the most comprehensive and interesting exhibits to be the temporary Egypt one and the birds and also the dinosaur hall is absolutely incredible. We went on a Tuesday afternoon and it was nice and quiet with only one camp group. I also like that there seemed to be quite a bit of staff throughout that were eager to answer your questions. There is museum parking to the side of the museum for three dollars which I wish we would have known about as we shuffled around the car for change for the meter. Definitely a place to visit with or without the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi110610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Come visit Egypt”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Come see the exhibit Echoes of Egypt - a wonderful exhibit featuring artifacts from ancient Egypt and the reinterpretation of them throughout the centuries (the echoes). The exhibit will be at the Peabody until Jan 4, 2014, and is well worth a visit. How long will it take - as short as 15 minutes (a walk-through) or 2 hours - examining everything. And when you finish the exhibit, head up to the 3rd floor and the museum's permanent Egyptian exhibit.
I've been there every Friday since June - and will be there until it leaves - and every week I seem to discover something new.
http://echoesofegypt.peabody.yale.edu/

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank keck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique history”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Visited again as an adult with family. The museum is pretty much the same as it was 20 years ago.
But that's not that bad of a thing... But I was hoping for more.
Awesome dinosaur exhibit, amazing minerals & lots of dead animals!!

Would love to see a larger CT Native American display. The kids touch area could be bigger & with more items & staff could interact with kids.

All comments aside... A great place to visit :)

Also... Parking lot small... Good luck with street parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JQTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best museum in New Haven”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Peabody has something for everyone. For the very young there is the Discovery room where you can touch everything, open drawers and see live Poison Dart Frogs, snakes, leaf cutter ants and other animals.
The Great Hall of Dinosaurs is really awesome! You can also see the amazing Zallinger mural, the largest natural history mural I the world. The rest of the museum is also interesting from Egypt to the Hall of Minerals Earth and space. It is a perfect museum to see in a morning or an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing