We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for everyone”

Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a diverse collection ranging from Indian artifacts to Egyptian art to a large bird collection.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

It was amazing and worth the admission fees. They have a huge collection of dinosaur fossils and a wonderful collection of gem stones that were mined throughout Connecticut. Try going there on Mon and Tue as it is usually free at that time.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SaqibS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    127
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Bird Exhibit I've Seen”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My two teenage kids and I went to New Haven for the day and were pleasantly surprised with the extensive exhibits at the Peabody at Yale. The dinosaur room, the timeline of human skulls-shapes and sizes; and the bird installation was very engaging. We spent about three hours going through the museum including the bed bug and louse exhibit. I was especially amazed by the number of bird species displayed-a true bird watcher's paradise.

As far as museums go, this was one of the most enjoyable-not too big but with a lot of depth.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybird108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“our favorite museum”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

sure things don't change that much but the kids love the dinosaurs and we get to hit Modern Pizza after. Very inexpensive to get in and there are always discounts. Easy parking and walk to downtown new haven. Very underrated place in my opinion

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ctfoodpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Free, but small”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is a classic museum with fossils and dinosaur bones. It is small. We did 4 billion years of history in under an hour. Probably best for elementary school age kids

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Green1Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in New Haven”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This museum is a leasure walk from Yale. Parking on sunday is free as well as the surrounding area. Although it is small compared to other museums of it's type, it does have alot of hidden gems. This museum has some interesting pieces from Egypt. It has a sarcophagus which is pretty rare to see let alone be able to take pictures. I can tell you that you can not take any pictures in any museums in Egypt. I'm still kicking myself for not taking pictures which means I will be back. At one time, there was a ton of artifacts from Machu Pichu. This year, 2011 marks the 100th anniversary since it's discovery. Many of the items had to be returned. The model that they have is very impressive. If you are into Machu Pichu, the video they have in conjunction with the model is very interesting. The reason this Museum got a average rating is because it is alot smaller compared to other natural history museums. The only bathrooms are located by the entrance. At the time of visit an adult ticket was $9. Given what's around the area of New Haven, this is one of the better attractions.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing