We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another free museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yale Center for British Art

Yale Center for British Art
Ranked #4 of 53 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Note: The Center is temporarily closed for building conservation through February 2016. We apologize for any inconvenience. The Yale Center for British Art is a public art museum and world-renowned research institute. Presented to Yale University by Paul Mellon (Yale College Class of 1929), the Center houses the largest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom. The collection of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, rare books, and manuscripts reflects the development of British art and life from the Elizabethan period to the present day. Works on view include masterpieces by Thomas Gainsborough, J.M.W. Turner, and John Constable, as well as artists from Europe and America who lived and worked in Britain. Perhaps its greatest treasure is the building itself, a masterpiece of modern architecture designed by architect Louis I. Kahn. Located in downtown New Haven, the Center is near many of the city's best restaurants, theaters, and shops.
new haven ct
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another free museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

If pink cheeked girls hugging their spaniels are not your thing come in to admire the stunning building. Great gift shop.

Helpful?
Thank nkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    56
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Only visited the 3rd level”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our time was limited so we only saw the featured artist at the time not their permanent collection. An impressive special exhibit.
The building's exterior was disappointing. Ironically it was right near our hotel and we kept passing it. I guess I am accustom to more formal museums especially one that exhibits British art.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newtown_PaShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not just British Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The exhibits are well done. Most of the art is British or derived from the Empire. There is a reading room that is quite spectacular.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petercbowman
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Building, Even Better Art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am not an artist, nor do I have any deep knowledge of art. However, this place is a wonderful attraction in New Haven. Very impressive works, well presented and a knowledgeable, friendly staff. It is well-placed in downtown New Haven and is completely free. I would highly recommend a visit to this place, whether you are a tourist or a CT resident. Add lunch/dinner at the Union League Cafe next door and you can experience Europe in New Haven.

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“World-class art and world-class design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

One of the best British art collections in the world.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale Center for British Art also viewed

 

Been to Yale Center for British Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing