We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Addition is Amazing”

Yale University Art Gallery
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Yale University Art Gallery is the oldest college art museum in America. The Gallery’s encyclopedic holdings of 200,000 objects range from ancient times to the present day and represent civilizations from around the globe. FREE and open to the public. On December 12, 2012, the Yale University Art Gallery celebrated the grand opening of the renovated and expanded museum. The expanded Gallery transforms the visitor experience of both the museum and its esteemed collections. The project united the 1953 modernist structure designed by Louis Kahn, the 1928 Old Yale Art Gallery, and the 1866 Street Hall into one continuous structure while maintaining the distinctive architectural identity of each.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Addition is Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had visited the Yale Art Museum several years ago and it was very nice. The huge new addition was amazing. It seemed 3 times bigger than before. The new space covers various periods from Greek and Roman to late 20th century home decor. There are room installations also. You could easily spend a day here, but the super nice thing is it is free so you can keep dipping into different parts over several days as you have time. We were there over graduation weekend and went several times. Parking is mostly street, but meters are $1.50/hr, so not too bad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rlr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    72
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent collection, excellent facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I am not a fan of modern art - more the kind that snickers than fawns over squares of color, and "Untitled - number whatever gets me moolah". Having said that, this art gallery had some interesting pieces - especially sculptures (Remington), a couple of very good impressionist paintings (A Monet, a few manets, ...), a couple of surreal paintings that snare your sub-conscious attention (you don't know why you are staring at it, but you cannot look away). The facilities are gorgeous - light, bright, spacious - so much so that if I were a New Haven resident, I might go to the museum just to sit on a bench and day dream - well, admission is free, so the dreams would not cost a cent. And who knows, I might finally figure out modern art!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NAKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The collections are vast and deep; art from the renaissance to today, an incredible european and americas antiquities collection, the museum itself couldn't be more intriguing and satisfying - the greek and roman artifacts are housed in what looks like a gothic cathedral; the other galleries are large and well lit - no glass glare to make viewing difficult. I was fortunate enough to come during an alumni weekend so there were curators an guides in all the galleries more than willing to point out their favorites and discuss others. I usually get 'museum fatigue' after an hour or so. After two and a half hours I broke for lunch, came back for another hour and there was still much to see. They have a current exhibition entitled 'Conversations with Wood" that was eye opening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fenmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restoration and Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

As university museums go, the YUAG is fantastic! Never all that crowded and it's free. You can enjoy everything from Greek sculptures, Northern Renaissance paintings to Edward Hopper in wonderful rooms.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Westcoastboy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Met can be envious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This museum is wonderful and very beautiful. It's collection is Fab!! They have paintings, sculpture and more. You should plan a visit to the area lots to do. I LOVE!! the MET in New York but this is so close and no admission. Parking is available for a minimal cost and they also have street parking. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank machita17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale University Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Yale University Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing