We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eli Art Trumps Harvard”

Yale University Art Gallery
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Yale University Art Gallery is the oldest college art museum in America. The Gallery’s encyclopedic holdings of 200,000 objects range from ancient times to the present day and represent civilizations from around the globe. FREE and open to the public. On December 12, 2012, the Yale University Art Gallery celebrated the grand opening of the renovated and expanded museum. The expanded Gallery transforms the visitor experience of both the museum and its esteemed collections. The project united the 1953 modernist structure designed by Louis Kahn, the 1928 Old Yale Art Gallery, and the 1866 Street Hall into one continuous structure while maintaining the distinctive architectural identity of each.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eli Art Trumps Harvard”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited the Yale Art gallery for about 4 hours. New addition is airy, light and welcoming. Their 20th century collection is outstanding. The whole collection is set up for easy viewing and you can follow the history of art, room by room. Silver items superb. Really well done and to our minds better than their fellow Ivies, Harvard and Princeton. Easy access by train to New Haven and then taxi. I am not a Yalie.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank climber06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    78
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“an amazing museum”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The name 'art gallery' is misleading. This is a real museum with a terrific array of art-Asian, African as well as Impressionist and modern. Recently renovated and expanded-a terrific way to spend an afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beyond Outstanding - Great Exhibition of Modern Art, Wonderful New Building”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've been to the Yale Art Museum once before, about 4 or 5 years ago. They have since completed a major expansion which has doubled or tripled their space. Part of the new space seems to be an old stone church or perhaps an original Yale building. In any case, it's full of character and a fitting showcase for the antiquities on display there.

There's also new contemporary space which houses a very impressive exhibition of Modern Art through July 14, 2013. This was my main reason for visiting this time, and I was beyond impressed. Focus was mostly on the European artists, and mostly paintings, with a few 3-dimensional pieces.

I had also planned to visit the Yale Museum of British Art today, but I never got there. The main museum is that large and that good.

IMHO, Yale is now easily the best college art museum in New England. There seems to be a rivalry between Yale and Harvard. I know the folks at Cambridge have been hard at work, and I can't wait to see the new Harvard museum when it opens.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In the truest sense of the word, this museum is wonderful. The public spaces, the architecture, the employees, and yes - the ART is extraordinary. Two days was not enough time to see it all! Their galleries are gorgeous - probably even without the art - but as showcases, they are truly gems!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Broad range of art forms”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A very nice museum with exhibits well arranged.
displays were well annotated and wide ranging from ancient egtpt, Greece, Rome to modern current art. Well worth a visit when in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank denali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale University Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Yale University Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing