We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winery”

Connecticut Valley Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great winery”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently stopped at the CT Valley Winery and had a lovely time. Their wines are all very good. We don't usually drink reds but theirs were very enjoyable. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KRJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    9
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run agri-business”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Connecticut Valley Winery is a well run family business that welcomes its visitors with a very nice tasting room and an owner with a great personality. If you can't figure out in the first few minutes of the tasting that the young man running this place has an absolute passion for working a vineyard and making wine then you're not paying attention. The wines, both white and red are very good and the multiple medals makes it clear that this winery like many in CT are making a strong run at Napa and Sonoma. Besides the traditional wine, try their Black Bear. It's a port that is smooth as silk. Not for the faint of heart, it packs a punch, but makes superb after dinner/desert choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ct. Wine tour”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

One of our favorite wineries. All their wines are fantastic, especially their black bear port. That is the ultimate and smoothest port we have ever had. It is like sweet candy! Love the tasting room especially when the fire is lit. The Ferraro family are like family as they make you feel right at home and their knowledge of wine making is top notch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Winery - wonderful friendly family owned and so worth a trip!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is one of my favorite wineries. For the last 3 years, we have been doing the CT Winey Trail and we always make sure to stop here. Not only to get our Passport book stamped but to purchase some wine. Loved the sangria.

My personal favorite wines are:
Raspberry Delight
Black Bear - Ask the owner how this wine got it's name. Very interesting story.

There is no charge unless you do the wine tasting - then there is a fee.
Nice outside porch with chairs and tables so you can pack a picnic basket with all your favorites, purcahse a bottle (or 2) of wine and sit outside and enjoy. If it is during the cooler months then you can sit inside by the fireplace and enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kam45impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if in the area”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location of this vineyard is a bit urban, however the views out the back of the building are lovely. Some of the wines here are surprisingly good however the service often feels rushed and this can take away from the experience...go on a day when they are not busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank panarama222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connecticut Valley Winery also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut Valley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing