We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated dining experience in the suburbs”
Review of Elm Restaurant

Elm Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in New Canaan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Avenue
Transit: New Canaan Stop on the New Haven Train Line
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sophisticated dining experience in the suburbs”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Weve eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed. Our dinner was absolutely delicious and the setting is handsomely simplistic. The restaurant has a seasoal mernu and my cuttle fish risotto in white wine was outstanding as was the bittersweer chocolate cake. It's a bit expensive, but given the level of food, service, and overall dinning experiece it is well worth it. The atmosphere is definitely for adults, so we were suprised (to the delight of our two young companions) that. there was a child's dinner and desert menu .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    4
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, excellent service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my third visit to Elm Restaurant and the meal never disappoints. It is not an inexpensive meal, but is clearly worth the price. I had the gem lettuce salad and halibut entree and each was done really well. Hard to imagine that even a salad can be so good, but the food was fresh and mouth watering. The amuse bouche and white chocolate that came with the check were both delicious, unexpected treats. I will go back again and again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suesilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Once again, a perfect dining experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've eaten here on several occasions, and have been consistently impressed with the high quality of everything about this place -- the food, the ambience, the staff. It is not inexpensive, but the value is definitely there, given the exceptional level of cuisine and service. Very good wine list. The attractive space is clean and modern. Great place to celebrate a special occasion or to indulge with a significant other (on the whole, it's probably better suited for adults than families with young children). We look forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“After Four Visits you it's confirmed - Must have the burger BUT Rare”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Take my word from a burger fanatic when I say have the burger but do it RARE here.

I had the burger many times now and ordering it previously medium rare it was slightly just "normal-good-burger". But I thought to myself the last time why not try it rare and enjoy the quality beef.

Boom! Amazing and delectable to the max. Super impressive burger and the fries were even better to me the fourth time around with their wonderful salty, spicy, crispiness.

Oh just a side-note, the salty spicy potato chips are amazing and should be sold in bags. Rockin'

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Uncle_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chef's counter is a great change-of-pace!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Eating dinner at the chef's counter is a really fun way to see "how the sausage is made." The food continues to be excellent, and you get to see how they prepare, organize and plate the dinners. Two things to remember - if you use all four seats, it's virtually impossible to have a four-way conversation; and, you are right next to the hamburger grill, which can get pretty hot.

We did the tasting menu, which was excellent, but could have been a bit more diverse. Desserts were delicious. One of the better Fairfield County restaurants we have been to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing