We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special treat”
Review of Bistro Bonne Nuit - CLOSED

Bistro Bonne Nuit
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Special treat”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great location for a quiet romantic dinner. Good quality food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food here is amazing. Go in the summer when you can sit outside because it is very small and the tables inside are close together. Also, there is no bar so if your table isn't ready only option is to stand in the alcove. This is offset by the quality of the food. Service was also very friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cttraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Gem”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

A treasure of a restaurant. Authentic French food, cozy and authentic atmosphere, great service. Every meal we've ever had there has been excellent. It's always a treat to spend an evening at Bistro Bonne Nuit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moderately Disappointed”
Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Phoned restaurant for reservation at 7:30 on a Friday night. Was informed they could accommodate me at 7 or 8. Upon arriving at 7:15 I wondered why all the fuss over the reservation. Restaurant was 3/4 empty all the way through the dining experience til 8:45pm. Was sitting there wondering why such a nice place was 3/4 empty on a balmy Friday evening in New Canaan?
At first sitting the service was prompt and attentitive but dropped off from there. My shrimp cocktail appetizer was not as zesty as I would have liked . Think the shrimp were just a bit tired.
My wife's Boston Lettuce salad was better than average but not outstanding.Same can be. Said for the entrees.
The restaurant had old warm charm but the food just didn't match up to the price..
Dessert was dreadful. We ordered a chocolate warm molten lava cake that was delivered lukewarm from a microwave and a scoop of ice cream that was flavorless.
After the entrees were delivered service dropped off to minimal trickle of activity.
I expected a great deal more from a restaurant that purports itself to be a horsy totsy French Country Inn. I have an idea why the restaurant was 3/4 empty.

Helpful?
Thank rolltiderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite New Canaan Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Consistently outstanding food, service and atmosphere. You can not have a better Bistro experience this side of Paris. Pricey, but when I want a great Seak Frit or Cassoulet, this is the place! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMan1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bonne Nuit also viewed

 
New Canaan, CT
New Canaan, CT
 
New Canaan, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing