We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Chef Can't Go Wrong”

Thali Regional Cuisine of India - New Canaan
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Ave.
Transit: Just couple of blocks from the New Canaan train station and just one hour ride on the metro north train from New York City.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This Chef Can't Go Wrong”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This chef owns several restaurants in CT. I've eaten at all of them, and thus far, the food has been consistently excellent. A recent meal at Thali in New Canaan was no exception. My dinner guests were all newcomers to Thali, and judging from their enthusiasm about each dish, the restaurant has some new fans. My personal favorite was Konkami Samundri for starters. The group went family style with Chicken Tikka Masala, Cocunut Lamb Saag and Moilee Shrimp.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Went for a meal with a large group of family. The restaurant was quite busy and there did not seem to be many staff working (this was a couple of days after Hurricane Sandy, so maybe that was the issue) so the service was not that fast. The food however was excellent, it was hot, and very tasty. Everyone was impressed and commented how good it was. The best judge of a restaurant is would I go back, yes is the answer.

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Thali is a terrific restaurant for high quality Indian food. I have stopped there twice with a group of people and it has been two great experiences. My fellow travelers are Indian and do all the ordering but I have enjoyed every appetizer and entree that they have chosen. The service has been excellent, very attentive. The atmosphere is interesting, Thali has been created out of a former post office building on main street in New Canaan, Connecticut. I have been to several other Indian restaurants with many of the same people and they have returned here many times in the last six months on their return from business in the NYC region.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

One of the priciest Indian places around, but the food is definitely worth the price! A different slant on some of the more common dishes, like "Chicken Tikka Massala", Lamb Vindaloo" and others, but absolutely for the better! Atmosphere is lovely -
service excellent! One of our favorites!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicholasjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Delightful Meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I dislike Indian food almost as much as I dislike Mexican food. However, the opportunity came up to go do dinner at Thali with my family.

Thali changed my mind. The food was unique and flavorful - not the highly spiced stuff that I had experienced through the years. The service was outstanding coupled with the waiter explaining what each course was.

Kudos to Thali.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thali Regional Cuisine of India - New Canaan also viewed

 
New Canaan, CT
New Canaan, CT
 
New Canaan, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing