We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business travel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for business travel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Clean, comfortable, outfitted with everything you need for business travel. No restaurants within walking distance, but there are many a short drive away.

Walls are a bit thin.

Front desk staff could use improvement. I was told to wait while the sole person on duty finished washing dishes in the back room before assisting me with check-in. Then she was rude and unwelcoming. Otherwise, it was fine and I'd reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    83
    72
    34
    17
See reviews for
85
60
57
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here on our way to Amhurst, MA, so it was just a stopover after landing at JFK Airport. The room was clean and comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was basic but made the room good value. This wouldn't set the world on fire, but provides a bed for the night at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

I had a business meeting next morning so just needed a one night stay near Farrmington CT. everything else was $120 and above so I booked La Quinta for $61 after AAA discount. I was pleasantly surprised to find very clean and comfortable lobby. My room was very large, clean and seemed new. It also felt high qualify - something like Hilton Garden or Marriott Courtyard which was $129 a night. Neighboorhood is OK lots of parking and there is continental breakfast. Definitely recommend it for anybody !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricSStatenIslandNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Biggest problem - paper thin walls. We complained that we could hear everything and they moved us. My mom, who was in a different room had the same problem. Otherwise the hotel was so-so - not too clean or too comfortable, but not extremely bad either. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuytza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Britain hotels

boston ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I got this hotel from PL for the price that I usually paid to 2.5* ~ 3* hotels. This hotel, although is not as good as Hyatt or Hilton, is actually much better than many other 3 stars like staybridge , holiday inn or even some residence inn if you don't ask for those extra amenities like pool or gym.

The room is a bit old but is very well maintained. It's very clean. The bed is not super soft but is already good enough to give you a good night sleep. Something to add is that the room ( I got a room with 2 queen beds) is so spacious.

There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. But internet is free. Also, parking is free too. Free breakfast is included when I visited the hotel. I will hope that I can get this room again on PL next time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Overall, I liked this hotel. But like anything else, it has pros and cons, and the cons kept me from giving it a 4 or a 5.

Pros:
- Big rooms

- Clean rooms

- Comfortable beds

- Fully stocked bathroom (toiletries, hair dryer, etc.)

- Continental breakfast

Cons:
- The wifi has a very weak signal, and it kept cutting out. Kept going thru a couple minutes of the internet working, followed by a few minutes of nothing. I called the front desk and their solution was to get an ethernet cable from them, so I did, but the wall jack was turned off or wasn't working. As a business traveler, the inability to check my e-mail or connect to VNC was a tough one to swallow.

- All feather pillows. I like something more firm, and appreciate a variety. But it wasn't bad.

- Location. It's not in the nicest part of town. Furthermore, we searched for over a half hour for an Italian restaurant with our GPS, and every one was gone. We finally ate at a bar. :)


Overall, this is a good hotel that simply needs better wifi. If all you want is a good night's sleep, this is a good choice. If you need internet and want places to eat nearby, stay in another town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoxWin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed one night at the LaQuinta while in the Hartford area. We were looking to save a little money and were attracted by the special senior rate. We were a bit concerned about the neighborhood the hotel is in but felt comfortable and safe. The service in the hotel was fine, in fact very outoing and helpful. My only criticism would be that the blinds in our room were not sufficient to insure privacy in the room and being on the first floor that was a concern. Other than this, we had not complaints.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Britain
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
6.5 mi away
Super 8 Hartford South - Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newington
4.8 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain

Property: Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
Address: 65 Columbus Blvd, New Britain, CT 06051-2226 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain/Farmington)
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Britain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out our renovated rooms with New England-style décor. All rooms are spacious, modern, and quiet. Entertain yourself with in-room flat screen TVs, HD and premium cable channels, and free WiFi. All rooms come with a coffeemaker and a hair dryer. Selected rooms offer microwaves and refrigerator. Get energized in the fitness center, scratch items off your to-do list in the business center and host a meeting onsite with space for up to 200 colleagues. Our hotel is pet friendly and provides onsite coin laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain Hotel New Britain
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Britain
La Quinta New Britain
New Britain La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing