We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room/good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
home
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room/good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent value: large room with fridge, micro, in-room coffee; and good central location to nearby restaurants and highway. Breakfast is simple continental, but more than adequate for the money paid..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank peterseremet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    88
    74
    36
    17
See reviews for
91
63
63
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We frequently travel with our dog, and La Quinta Inn in New Britain, CT, was a good stop for us as we drove from northern Maine to Pennsylvania. The room was nice, price was a bargain, but I didn't want to walk the dog very far from the grounds the night we arrived. Neighborhood was a little sketchy, but the next morning, we were very easily and quickly back on our route. I'm told that all La Quinta Inns in the US accept guests traveling with dogs. What a bonus to know that if there is a La Quinta Inn where I'm stopping, they'll be ok with my dog.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The first thing that should be done is replace the housekeeping staff; There were five rooms that were disgusting. We reserved 1 room and upon entering found semen stains on the bed skirt, stains on the carpet, bathroom was filthy. The front desk showed us 4 additional rooms all of which had similar issues. There were stains of body fluids, cigarette burns in a non-smoking room, fecal matter and stains in the bathrooms and a very unpleasant odor.

The manager was not available and did not return our call and message left on his phone detailing the issues we had. This is highly unprofessional. The manager of this establishment did not take the time or courtesy to inquire about our extremely unpleasant experience in this hotel.

Myself, my wife and our two young children were traumatized and exhausted when we had to look for another hotel at 3am. It took us over an hour to find a respectable room. ( we ended staying at a Hilton) We are thankful for hotels like the Hilton who put their customers first.

We were told that we were not charged for the room after we made it clear that this was the worst experience ever. We were shown a receipt with a zero balance and told that we were not charged. The next day I see a charge for the room on my bank statement. . ( I never thought that I would have to inspect a room at LaQuinta prior to paying the bill, I guess I will have to do this each and every time I travel) I do not believe I will entertain making reservations at a LaQuinta Inn and Suites ever again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Britain hotels

Winter Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times a year over the past several years.It seems every time is worse than the last. This trip started with no luggage cart available. One of the two elevators was out of service and when the door opened on the good one, it was filled with cleaning carts and no cleaning person. We removed the carts as we were not going to walk up five flights! When we got to our floor, there was litter in the hallway which remained for over 24 hours before being removed. Later I needed to print something and their business center printer was dead...like the elevator. Next morning I went to their breakfast and both trash cans were filled to overflowing and spilling on the floor. The homeless man who came in for coffee didn't seem to mind the trash. One of the staff came in, but did nothing to correct this. In general the staff seemed more interested in talking with their "gangsta" looking boyfriends/girlfriends than actually doing their jobs. Going back up to the room, I smelled cigarette smoke in the non-smoking room's hallway and mentioned this to the chambermaid. Her reply was "you should see the room down the hall, there's so much marijuana smoke in there you can't even breathe". When we called the manager on duty, they did nothing about it and seemed put out that we should expect anything to be done. .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

If you must stay in New Britain, this is your best choice because it is your only choice. Or if you a on budget, it hard to pay less. The rooms are tired and banged up, but the bed was fine. The walls are paper thin. If wish to pay more, you may be happier elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been renovated. . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penpalpenpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once again, there is no way anyone who travels could give this place over 3 stars unless they are related to the owners. The walls are paper thin (could literally hear the guests on every side of me and they were talking quietly), the smoke is unbearable, the carpets in the rooms are filthy, fire alarms kept going off, the main entrance was blocked off for 5 days, no hot water for a week, the elevators sound like they could break at any second, the internet was hit and miss (more miss), the breakfast was not at all good and the power in my room went out at least once a day causing me to have to get my key reprogrammed every day. I spoke to corporate and nothing was done. It is a good thing they allow pets because it is the only plus and why I gave 2 stars instead of 1 even though I would not bring my pet there. Guessing the rooms which allow pets are probably flea infested because the entire place is filthy. I try to stay at LaQuinta whenever I can because of the value, but I wouldn't even suggest my mother-in-law stay here.

Room Tip: Everything is dirty, but the upper floor is the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank cletis316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Britain
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Plainville
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain

Property: Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
Address: 65 Columbus Blvd, New Britain, CT 06051-2226 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain/Farmington)
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Britain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out our renovated rooms with New England-style décor. All rooms are spacious, modern, and quiet. Entertain yourself with in-room flat screen TVs, HD and premium cable channels, and free WiFi. All rooms come with a coffeemaker and a hair dryer. Selected rooms offer microwaves and refrigerator. Get energized in the fitness center, scratch items off your to-do list in the business center and host a meeting onsite with space for up to 200 colleagues. Our hotel is pet friendly and provides onsite coin laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain Hotel New Britain
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Britain
La Quinta New Britain
New Britain La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing