We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We're busines owners in town who got stuck due to a snowstorm. Pleasant surprise! Have known this hotel since it opened years ago as a Howard Johnson's. The latest owners have spent considerable time and thought into renovations...very clean, plesant staff...great bargain for the money. The heating system is a tad noisy, but that could be overlooked considering our reason for staying. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to put up out of state relatives or just a night away....great job LaQuinta!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Books1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 389 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2007

Got stranded in a fast moving snow storm and decided to stay in New Britain rather than travel the remaining 25 miles home. I grew up in New Britain and have known this hotel since it was built. It is still listed as a Days Inn on the web for New Britain, but it is MUCH improved with the recent refurbishment!!! Only physical complaint is the awful noisy recycling of the heater - mentioned by another reviewer. I tried to turn the whole thing off for a while, but impossible. The staff in the La Quinta and in Dave's Bar B Q were very friendlly and helpful. Only $59 for one person on a week night. Clean and up to date. A little short on available TV channels and the FM radio was useless; no weather channel in a storm!

I was not equipped to do any snow walking, but would have loved to visit the Library or several churches ( 2 blocks), book store (1 block) or the New Britain Museum of American Art and Walnut Hill Park, designed by Frederic Olmsted.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CTNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

We stayed here for the AOPA expo and had a great experience. The hotel is clean, the room was great, clean. The Bathroom was very clean, the staff was very friendly espcially "Livia". The breakfast was good with lot of options. There is a CVS, BBQ place right next door and hotel is located in a quiet location.

*******Only Bad thing i can say about this place is that we decide to watch a movie in the room and the price of the movie was ridiculous. $12.99!!!!!!!!!!!

I would recommed this place to everyone who is looking for perfect hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nycnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Stayed here because it was convenient to the end of a long day on the road (family vacation) and pet-friendly. This is a large multi-story property in what seems the middle of downtown New Britain. The staff was pleasant, the room was large and clean and the breakfast buffet was plentiful. The elevator was baulky - sometimes didn't want to go to the 5th floor - front desk staff told me there was a refurbishment in the works for that. There's really nowhere to walk to from here and you probably don't want to (although police headquarters is next door). Hotel is directly connected to Famous Dave's BBQ restaurant, which turned out to be a delicious meal the end of the day. Overall a good value if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarHeelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

$79 for a perfectly decent room is the main highlight, a real bargain. However, I had trouble sleeping because of the badly designed Amana cooling unit. To maintain cooling, it cycles between on and completely off, unlike better units that cycle between fan only and fan+compressor. The result was utter silence, then the incredibly loud Amana, then silence, then the Amana etc. repeated all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryInBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We made last minute plan to visit Hartford and realized that all the hotels in or around downtown area didn't have any room available. We could not find a hotel with a decent review close by, and decided on La Quinta since we always seemed to have good experience with them.

The hotel is right off I-84, about 10 miles out of Hartford, and very easy to find. When we got there, the express check-in was already in place, so we were sent to our room within a minute. The staffs were very nice.

The elevator is a bit old, but the rooms are obviously newly renovated. Very fresh, modern decor, comes with a small fridge (no freezer) and microwave. The bed is very comfortable. The counter top and the bathtub wall are beautiful granite. Of course there is also the big office desk, free high-speed internet, and a small chair for reading at the corner. Overall, we were very impressed, consider the amount of money we paid for the room.

The free breakfast is nothing fancy, but have enough variety. Finally, there is a "Famous Dave's" bbq place in the hotel. We didn't have a chance to check it out, but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sleepyshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rri_newbritain, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Britain
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
9.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Plantsville
Econo Lodge Plantsville
#1 of 1 in Plantsville
107 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain

Address: 65 Columbus Blvd, New Britain, CT 06051-2226 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain/Farmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Britain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Britain
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out our renovated rooms with New England-style décor. All rooms are spacious, modern, and quiet. Entertain yourself with in-room flat screen TVs, HD and premium cable channels, and free WiFi. All rooms come with a coffeemaker and a hair dryer. Selected rooms offer microwaves and refrigerator. Get energized in the fitness center, scratch items off your to-do list in the business center and host a meeting onsite with space for up to 200 colleagues. Our hotel is pet friendly and provides onsite coin laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Britain Hotel New Britain
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Britain
La Quinta New Britain
New Britain La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing