We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wiener Schnitzel? Not here at the East Side.”

East Side Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 149 Restaurants in New Britain
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Simsbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wiener Schnitzel? Not here at the East Side.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I were on our way home from the beach and decided to stop for dinner at the East Side Restaurant, which I remember from 30+ years ago as a fairly authentic ethnic German restaurant. Unfortunately what we found was a far cry from the food I remebered. The dining rooms have changed and it has the appearance of a party place with a few of the old Bavarian pictures etc.
The beer was good: I had a Spaten "Optimator" "Mass" (1 liter glass mug, Mass translates into a measure) and my wife had a glass of Weizen (wheat) beer, both from Munich, and served at the right temperature. Now to the food: we both ordered Wiener Schnitzel; it came with a fried egg on top (so described on the menu but normally found on a Schnitzel "Holstein"). It was a pork Schnitzel rather than veal; the waitress remarked "all or Schnitzels are pork". It was edible and large as are all their portions, but totally lacked taste and delicacy of a real Wiener Schnitzel. The only thing better than average were a couple of appetizers served, a cottage cheese laced with horseradish and a fresh cole slaw with sweet and sour dressing; the apple pie dessert was also well done with not fully soft, tasty apples. The rest of the meal was not worth the eating and calories. We finished our beer, amused ourselves by watching severeal parties having a good time over many beers, and enjoyed the music of the strolling accordeonist, who seemed to know every old German, Italian and French tune that has been sung after too much wine, Schnaps or beer. He made the evening bearable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    71
    34
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Downside of East Side”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Came back after several years to celebrate two family birthdays.

We were in a partying mode but after 2 and 1/2 hours of the East Side experience we left disappointed. Food is mediocre, service is slow, and atmosphere is lacking.

They have worked hard to advertise and spread their party atmosphere reputation; but reality at $28/$32 you should go elsewhere for food.

The accordion player was excellent and played a variety of polka, German and other music with a smile and nice personna.

Too bad, the rest of East Side did not measure up to the accordion player!

Will not be back and cannot recommend anyone to do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTGolfDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Billboards Draw You In!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Probably the worst meal I have ever had! Went as part of a party of 7 and we all left extremely frustrated with the poor quality and high prices. For all of the advertising this place does, they could afford to put a little of it towards cooking lessons. As many other reviewers have also pointed out the majority of the dishes taste like frozen food that was microwaved. The so called gravies and sauces are as bad or worse than something from a can or just add water packet. Schnitzel is not bad. After that its all down hill. Baked stuff shrimp listed as a chef specialty is an embarassment. Clearly freezer burned very small shrimp, cooked to death and topped with a dollop of tasteless breading. Cordon Blue is an unidentifiable meat topped with horrible brown gravy fresh from a can. Beers are nice but like everything else overpriced. Its clear they are trying to get every penny from their customers.

After going here could not help mentioning my experience to a number of friends, not one of which was shocked. All had their own bad experience to share, some just laughed. Lesson learned for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, lively atmosphere”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

East Side is a place you go for the fun, not necessarily the food. It's a party like place with accordion players playing anything from traditional music to modern hits. The beer on tap is great and everyone loves a good "Ticki tocki ticki tocki oy oy oy." Meals are relatively pricey with the cheapest being $28. This is a great place to go for a celebration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great beers”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

According to my dad the "big beers" are great. The food German. Great atmosphere, you always see people that are happy, or having a good time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aircoco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to East Side Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing