We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of pros and cons”
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lots of pros and cons”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pros: centrally located in Mystic, large tastfully appointed rooms with with living room area and fridge , large screen TV, free Starbucks in lobby, including espresso and lattes. Cons: small outdoor pool with lots of kids, breakfast ends at 9am so don't go after 8 because it was so crowded and messy with lots of kids who apparently don't have any manners or weren't supervised. The windows in the room don't open and the room a/c cycles on and off a lot.

Hints: walk up the block to Friendly's or the diner for breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st floor if you want any quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    324
    86
    26
    31
See reviews for
408
375
29
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights. Our King room with Queen pullout was beautiful. I love the fact that they have down comforters and not huge ugly dirty quilts. The bed and pullout were very comfortable. My kids loved the Huge TV. There was also a huge variety of component jacks next to the television so you can charge your electronics. The outdoor pool (one of only three outdoor pools in mystic) was beautiful and clean. The staff was really nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and included eggs on croissants with spinach; biscuit with egg, avocado, turkey and cheese and pancakes. Also they have everything else from a continental breakfast. The food is plentiful and was always hot. There really is no "dining room" to eat just a few tables, so you either have to get their early for a table, small tables in lobby or eat in your room. We did not have a problem finding a seat. The location is perfect and the landscaping is beautiful. The hotel costs a bit more than the hotels in the area, but it is more upscale and worth it with the breakfast and cleanliness.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel was average, clean, people at front very busy, but did greet us.We always look for breakfast to be included so we can relax and not have to rush out in the mornings.Our issue was the breakfast set up!! First the time, 6:30-9:00, and weekends till 10:00, made everyone sleep in till the last minute, lots of children included, and a mad dash to wait in lines for food. We had no place to sit, as the families had spread out over the few areas to eat.We arrived at 8:00, and many things were gone, the area was a disaster!!! The set-up was not user friendly at all, dishes and plates, cups, etc. overhead on shelves where the food was, people reaching over you, having to keep cutting in lines!!!!Not clean at all!!!! Next morning we went out for breakfast, not very pleased!!!! The extra 4 dollar charge to watch a movie was not very nice on top of 16.99 for it to begin with.We will not be back.Did I mention the messy sitting area, disaster!!!!Children over took the whole area, what a mess! Next day passing through, same deal going on, we couldn't wait to leave!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place for two nights with my husband and 9 month old son. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to the aquarium and olde mystic village. The guest room is very large and my son had a ball crawling all around. They provided us with a pack and play for him to sleep in at no extra charge. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and the staff is friendly and willing to accommodate all requests. I needed dish soap to wash bottles in the room and they gladly went into the kitchen to get me some. The pool is small, but lovely. We had a wonderful stay and would gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelBorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I should start by saying that I am usually very grossed out by staying at hotels. I travel with my own sheets/pillowcases and check rooms very carefully for any evidence of bedbugs or other things that could be lurking within. After my very thorough inspection, I was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean room. Mattresses and sheets were super clean and I felt confident that nothing would be snacking on me while I slept! LOL The staff at the hotel was very friendly. You absolutely cannot beat the free breakfast that they serve in the lobby each morning. Fresh fruit, juice, eggs, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee, donuts. You name it, they had it. The only complaint I had was that the bed left my back hurting each morning. I was in pain for the first hour or two after waking up. I have to say that for the price, this was an excellent experience. I also would like to add that although we were happy that the hotel had a pool, it was strangely small. I felt awkward to use it because with only about 8 people in it you felt like you were almost on top of each other. They did have towel service by the pool, which was nice. We were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 333. It was the last room at the end of the hall. It was quiet because we only share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farrah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My Husband and I decided to take an overnight trip to Mystic on July 14, 2013. We booked the Hyatt Place for two reasons..decent reviews and location.

I cannot praise the staff at this hotel with enough words in the dictionary!

We arrived by motorcycle after an extremely hot and sticky 91+ degree ride at 12:00 noon and even though check-in is 3:00 p.m we were welcomed like family the moment we walked up to the desk to see if we could store our luggage until the room became available.

Amazingly the room was already done and ready and we smoothly checked in and went upstairs and changed into our shorts and comfortable clothing.

We ventured back down to the lobby to get refreshments and get directions to Foxwoods and were well taken care of in that realm as well. After our trip to Foxwoods we came back to the hotel and had cocktails and went down to the really nice, slightly small and very clean outdoor pool and met some really nice people.

We decided we wanted to continue the night in downtown Mystic so again we asked the staff if there were shuttles or taxi's because we did not want to drink and drive and they told us don't worry we can drive and pick you up!!
How great is that?

Unfortunately, when we called for them to pick us up the shift changed and "Mike" was by himself and could not leave so he furnished us with a local taxi number. We made friends with the locals in John's Cafe and the taxi couldn't come to get us for 2 hours so one of them drove us back to the hotel.

Upon arrival, we asked Mike if there really was 24 hour food service and he said yes indeed and proceeded to cook us a fantastic dish! When we asked him what we owed he said "on the house for us not being able to come get you." WOW again!!

Long story short we stayed another night with the hotel shuttling us to Old Mystick and the area restaurants as well.

From the front desk to all the housekeepers and crew you all made us want for nothing!!
This place was clean and nice, the complimentary breakfast with hot and cold choices and was really a great touch. The cook the second morning was very creative and it was yummy!!

The only thing I would say is negative is the fact that corporate should not expect the front desk to be reception/chef/servers/ and cleaners..in my book they are severely underpaid and overworked yet do it with a smile nonetheless! Hire a chef and let them take care of business at the desk as hostess, etc.
Oh, and by the way..we left our $1000.00 Nikon SLR camera behind and the housekeepers brought it too management right away and they arranged to have it FedEx to us...talk about honest great people..5+ stars for this hotel!!

Room Tip: We were in room 203, pretty nice view..great room, king size bed with a partition that separates the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sioned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I selected the Hyatt based upon reviews from fellow Trip Advisors. The service was incredible, the rooms were spacious with an added seating area and the breakfast was way better than expected. Our room was immaculate. What excellent value for our stay, can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
814 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Property: Hyatt Place Mystic
Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing