We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was at this hotel overnight for a wedding. The couples choice for us to stay at this locale was perfect. Easy off the highway, great rate, clean well appointed room and a light breakfast in the morning. My only complaint is the breakfast could have been a bit more appealing and the "clean" dishes were greasy. Had to hunt for a clean one in the stack. I would have given an excellent rating for cleanliness except for this. Overall very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaddyLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    273
    68
    19
    28
See reviews for
318
301
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to surprise my boyfriend for his 30th birthday by taking him to Foxwoods. There was 2 couples in our party, so we reserved two rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we were blown away by the beauty of the rooms. This excitement was short lived.
We got settled in our rooms and we sent out the guys to pick up pizza and a 12 pack so we could save money by eating before we left for the casino. When they returned with the food and drinks they were approached by a manager who snapped his fingers aggressively to get their attention. He was saying " boys, boys lets have a little talk". He decided that right there in the lobby he was going to inform them that there was a lot of people coming in and out of the hotel and then pointed at the pizza and beer and said there is a no party policy. If there were any complaints of any type of noise then we were subject to being thrown out. My boyfriend let him know he was offending him and he walked away.
Secondly, I was taking a shower and I grabbed a towel out of the stack that they provide for you and began to dry myself off. When I opened it up I was flabbergasted by the huge blood stain on it. It was a stain that was anywhere from 8-9" in diameter. The center was brown and the outside of the circle was a faded red. How this was washed and folded and then placed for someone to use is beyond my comprehension. On our way out of the hotel we sat and waited for the other couple we were with to checkout and saw a cleaning lady carrying a stack of clean, folded towels with one hand and eating a breakfast sandwich in the other. How unsanitary! I don't think I would ever consider staying here again. Which is a shame because the hotel itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jstan1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checked in for one night to see a show at Foxwoods. Easy check in with a lot of helpful tips. Clean room with no issues. They brought a hair dryer up for us when the in room one was not working..We did not eat breakfast the next morning just due to the sheer number of folks trying to eat at the same time..Would stay again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to Mystic for a weekend getaway and decided to stay at the Hyatt Place because of the great reviews on trip advisor. The hotel lived up to all the reviews I read from the excellent staff to the clean rooms. Andy greeted us when we arrived and gave us great advice on what to do in the area. He also told us that if we had any questions or concerns please call the front desk. Due to weather conditions we decided to order in and they had menus at the front desk and the young lady even suggested a Resturant in the area to order. The recommendation was a good one and our food was excellent. I would recommend the hotel and I plan on return again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. The front desk staff were very nice and very accommodating. The 24 hour Starbucks is a nice touch, as is the option to order food-we did not but seemed convenient nonetheless.

The hotel allows dogs but you are not allowed to walk your dog through the front lobby to get in and out of the hotel which is inconvenient at best. I get not allowing pets in common and dining areas, but the lobby is a bit ridiculous. They also charge a $150 non-refundable pet fee which is a lot IMO. Other hotels have charged that, but usually a Hyatt or similar upscale chains do not charge so much. Although this is not an upscale hotel.

The rooms are ok but could use am upgrade- esp the bathrooms. I think they may be in the process of renovating because the elevators were being worked on and I think they had a notice in the room that they were doing upgrades.

The location is great. I'd recommend the Hyatt Place if you're looking for a place to stay in Mystic. But if you're going to travel with a pet and willing to pay a high pet fee, the Residence Inn down the street may be a good, if not better, option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nohobillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We traveled up for a concert to Mohegan Sun and we stayed here at this hotel during the Nemo snow storm that dropped around 24 inches in the area. When we checked in, the people were very nice and accommodating. The room was awesome for this hotel and at such a great price.

Our only problem was the power went out so we had no lights, BUT, the staff was at the front doing what needed to be done. They re-located us down on the first floor so we didn't have to lug everything upstairs and it was night time so it didn't matter that the power went out to me anyway.

Even though we had this little bump in our stay, I have to say, the staff went above and beyond with everything to make our stay very comfortable.

PS. The bed was very comfortable as well. We slept very well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Overall we were very impressed with the service and the hotel overall. The manager was quick to respond to any concerns. We enjoyed an inexpensive and tasty meal at 10p at the Starbucks/cafe. The manager gave us a complimentary delicious chocolate chip cookie. The room was spacious but the bathroom was small and dark. The shower was pleasing to the eye but the water pressure was terrible. We slept comfortably - the mattress was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. While the room was clean, the maid service was disappointing. The maid didn't leave any shampoo, the ice bucket wasn't rinsed and a dirty glass was left with the clean one, so not sure whether it was a glass we used or supposed to be a clean glass or they just wipe out the glass with some chemical. We also requested more paper, left a note with a tip, and did not receive the paper we requested. The manager was quick to fulfill our request when we brought it to his attention. The full breakfast had a lot of variety both hot and cold items, except if one is on a gluten free diet. They had a nice assortment of Tazo tea, but ran out of black tea and the hot water was lukewarm. While they were quick to heat up some water, they couldn't do anything about replenishing the black tea. The internet was extraordinarily slow on both of our computers, so a problem with the service not our computers. The spacious room included a wet bar (sink, counter, coffee maker and refrigerator) - we would have liked a microwave. The fitness room had two treadmills, an elliptical, and a bicycle. It was clean and bright. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the manager genuinely seemed to enjoy his job and want to make it a pleasurable experience. Renovations were going on in the hotel but we would never have known if we didn't walk down the hall where it was happening. We would stay there again but hope some changes are made.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#6 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#3 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Property: Hyatt Place Mystic
Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing