We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Clean Hotel”
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night, should have stayed for the whole time we at the cape! Very nice clean hotel! Modern interior, staff was super friendly! Rooms are very large, with a seperate living area. Highly recomend, close to highway for the drive out to the cape.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxepr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in September. The good, check in was smooth and extremely friendly. In fact one of the nicest experiences when checking in!

The room was large and spacious. Perfect for my wife, 2 year old and I.

Close to old mystick village, 5 min walk. Great location. Lots of parking.

Maybe it was our room, 222, but it was next to the lift so all night we could hear the door going. There was also a really loud family staying in the room opposite and we could hear everything. Whilst not the hotel's fault, one to bear in mind as maybe that room is not that noise proof.

Finally, the room was not as clean as we would have liked. Cobwebs under the bed.

But I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I think the Hyatt Place concept is new for Hyatt. This is a newly built hotel with a lobby which was clearly made for people and families to hang out in. Front desk personnel serve as check in, concierge, and food/beverage kiosk worker -- which means all of these functions are at your fingertips 24/7. Board games and TV in the lobby too. You can get a Starbucks coffee, wine/beer, and light snack served to you whenever you need. No room service but this arrangement is pretty convenient. Full, generous hot/cold breakfast available for about 2 hours in the AM. Lot's of families stay at this hotel so be prepared for a bit of pandemonium at breakfast time. Nice outdoor pool which I think is heated but not sure. Lot's of kids there too. Very friendly staff. I feel like this whole place is set up to be like the "Jet Blue" of the Hyatt chain. It's really a very economical, pleasant way to go. And BTW, huge suite style rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've stayed at the Hyatt Place in Mystic on three separate occasions. Most recently, this last Labor Day Weekend. When we arrive, we are always greeted by the most pleasant people. They actually smile at you and for once, you know they mean it!
The rooms are clean, modern, updated and well layed out. The only negative (hence the 4 rating instead of 5) is the size of the bathroom. It's tiny. But you really don't need to spend much time there anyway! Only other downside is the noisy air conditioner but aren't they all these days??
They have cleverly added a "bar" in the lobby but it's really meant to be a "take a drink to your room" which is much better anyway. The complementary breakfast is good, pretty basic, although this stay they added some egg sandwiches to the offering. Nice touch.
It's a great location, close to the historic Mystic area but not downtown so you aren't trapped in the traffic. Right off the highway, but far enough off so you don't get the road noise. A really nice Steak restaurant (The Steak Loft, see separate review) is within walking distance as is the historic village with small shops.
My husband and I go to Mystic as a launching point for golf and winery weekends. This hotel provides us access to both without paying absorbandent rates for Westerly RI or Casino hotel stays.
Highly recommend the Hyatt Place experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swrCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with 3 kids. It was great. Hotel is clean, staff friendly, breakfast tasty and abundant (even for the picky eaters). We took advantage of the AAA rate. The pool is heated and was a lot of fun. There is a tiny bar/food section that was great. It is right at the entrance to town and has a ton of free parking. Would definitely stay here again. TV has easy plugs to help with connecting ipods and DVD player and WiFi was working reasonably well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Mystic for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Things to know...I wouldnt say Mystic is within easy walking distance to the Hotel, you can do it but have to cross a busy road. It's much easier to just drive to the aquarium and town since there is ample parking. When we arrived the hotel referred us to the Boat Restaurant for lunch with a discount card...don't waste your time nor money as the restaurant was very loud, service slow and food not very good.
The hotel itself was well maintained and rooms were nice, along with a staff that tries hard to please. Breakfast was as described in previous reviews..kind of hectic but food was ok.
We would recommend the property to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one night here and it was great. Very clean and quiet with wonderful staff. The WiFi was way too weak so we gave up on that. The room was large and well lighted and the shower was easy to use. We had one of the best breakfasts ever with a wide selection of hot and cold food. The coffee was top grade and I had two cups which is unusual for me. The breakfast area was well serviced although the floor was sticky. We would definitely stay here again. Excellent location as a base camp for the village and Groton sub base.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank DWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing