We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Affordable, Great Breakfast”
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient, Affordable, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here July 4, 2012. Room on the third floor was clean with a big comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet was excellent with an assortment of sandwiches, fruits, and yogurts. Just make sure you get down to breakfast as early as possible because competition for food is intense after 8am! They also feature Starbucks coffee. The only drawback was that the wireless internet did not work in my room on both the iPad and iPhone. Hotel is about a 10 min drive from downtown Mystic in a convenient location off the highway. Staff was very friendly. Recommended, especially for the price, which is cheaper than most hotels in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    317
    85
    26
    30
See reviews for
393
365
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had 4 rooms for a family gathering for 2 days in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating. The location is perfect; the rooms are large; and they provide a very nice breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Upon arrival, we found this Hotel to be very conviently located, just off the highway, and close to our destination. The Lobby was gorgeous, and the Staff was friendly and efficient, and we were able to get to our room in no time. I noticed a slight musty smell upon getting off the elevator, and also in our room, but it became unnoticeable after a while.
The rooms were very nicely decorated. Even though we had the standard 2-Large beds in the room, there was also a small living area with a couch. We didn't bring our computers, but there was a very nice computer hook up and desk area in the room for business travelers. We did appreciate the large 42" LED TV, but there was no channel guide to be found, making it difficult to change channels, or find out what was on. There was mention in the hotel booklet about a channel guide at the Hotel's website, but we were unable to locate that with our IPhones on that website.
We found the beds to be comfortable enough, but definetly not a home run. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice try, and was something fairly new for Hyatt Place, but it fell a little short of our expectations, because of the choices being limited to the dry, pre-made breakfast sandwitches.
The location of the Hotel was just right, and was just about within walking distance of the Old Mystic Villiage Shops. There was also a 5 Guys Hamburg place, a couple of restaurants, and a Mcdonalds in the immediate vicinity.. We were unable to find any decent shopping in that area. It was a few miles drive to get to Downtown Mystic, which was nice to see.
We enjoyed our 2-day stay at this hotel, but because it was entering the Summer Season, the Hotel rates were about double of what they should of been. Last year we stayed at the Hyatt Place Uncasville, about 20 minutes north, and found it to be a little nicer hotel, and a better value, but it was booked and the only rooms available there were very high priced. All in all I would stay again at Hyatt Place Mystic, because of its overall clenliness, convienient location, and the efficiency and frendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Either the standard 2-bed room or the 1-Kingsize.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djpatruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This brand does not begin to live up to Hyatt's traditional high quality standards for many reasons too numerous to mention. Brand is cheap, HVAC system noisy, breakfast area in the morning is a cattle call and accomodations overall uncomfortable. You woudl be better off in a Comfort Inn or similar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our family stayed in this hotel for one night during a stopover in Mystic, CT. The hotel is well-appointed, convenient both to I-95 and a walking distance to the Aquarium and the Seaport. The historic town is a short drive away. The room was very spacious and super clean and bright. There was a heated pool that our kids thoroughly enjoyed. Breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishkek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is well placed for anything you want to do in Mystic. The hotel itself is clean and well appointed. The part that makes it shine is the service. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to take care of us. We were there for the wooden boat show, and the hotel was completely booked, but the staff took it all in stride and accommodated our every request.
Rooms were nice with two double beds on one side of a half wall, a sitting area with pull out couch on the other. Plenty of room for parents and two teenage boys. Free wifi, big TV with all the connection options you could want. Everything was good.
Now if you are looking for quaint New England charm, or killer views of the waterfront, this isn't the place for you. Its tucked back in a grove of trees. Its quiet, plush and you can get a good nights sleep, but its not on the waterfront. If you want water views, or walking distance to downtown Mystic and the cool shops and restaurants, head a mile south to the Inn at Mystic.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor room next to the kitchen. The beeping of the microwaves as the staff starts b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shultz314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just returned from 2 nights at the Hyatt Place Mystic and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room and hotel were clean and quiet. The location of the hotel was great, we were able to walk to the village, aquarium and seaport very easily. The breakfast provided was good, including bagels, toast etc. cereal, oatmeal, fruit, donuts and breakfast sandwiches. Milk, juice and Starbucks coffee also included. The kids used the pool at night before bed, it was small, but there were not a lot of people using it when we were there, so it was not crowded. If we return to Mystic one day, we would certainly stay at the Hyatt Place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Property: Hyatt Place Mystic
Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing