We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fake Bar”
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Acton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fake Bar”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Room was awesome, better than we expected. We stayed at a Hyatt in Boston and had the most amazing Bar ever......this one not so much. Bar was the front desk and offered 4 selections of beer and very slim wine pickings. Front desk was very confusing looked like a restraunt up front. Personnel were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhahnX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    331
    87
    27
    33
See reviews for
426
387
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt, Mystic, CT for Easter weekend and it was pretty crowded, surprisingly! The desk staff were incredibly sweet & helpful. They recommended restaurants & shops and even helped coordinate times when we wouldn't conflict with the very large group staying at the hotel.

Rooms are exactly as they look online, which is refreshing. No surprises. Bathroom is a bit small, but the vanity is outside and the room is generally well laid out.

Continental breakfast every morning is plentiful - fruits, yogurts, egg sandwiches (not egg-cellent, but they are free!), french toast, bagels, donuts, etc. FREE Starbucks!!

There is not really a bar, though you can get beer, wine & some mixed drinks from the front lobby until 11pm ish. This is NOT bar. Its the front lobby check-in person giving you a drink. Great, cheap food that you can order - not room service - but its CHEAP (room service is always overpriced). Sandwiches, salads and pizzas. They say you have to pick up, but they always found time to bring straight to our room.

Great staff, clean place, good time. We would go back.

RIght by Mystic Aquarium and have lunch or dinner at the Mystic Boathouse!! Old Mystic Village is across the street (be sure to cut through there rather than walking the street to the Aquarium). The Village Shops are cute and pretty but SOO overpriced! A cute little village. Enjoy the ducks and some people watching.

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor, great view, right by ice machine, far from elevator. Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Easy to find and was pleasantly surprised by how clean the grounds and rooms were. Room was large with front part being a small living area with a partial wall separating the beds. I think this is great as it helps with hallway noise. Free breakfast was pretty good and they kept it well stocked and clean during a very busy breakfast time. We had been staying in hotels for the past 3 nights and this one by far had the MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS! We prefer them a bit firm so this was a welcome treat from the "sink to the foundation" type beds.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (3rd) with a room in the back. I liked the fact that it looked toward a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopsing-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

After reviewing a couple of hotels in this area, we decided on the Hyatt Place because of it's proximity to the MGM/Foxwood theatres. The purpose of our trip was to see a show at the Foxwoods, we stayed one night at the hotel.

The location is excellent, right off the highway, gas, food, carwash in close proximity. Hotel staff very friendly, helpful and acknowledged my Hyatt Gold card status. They also accomodated a room request for the rear of the hotel (very quiet).

The room was clean and spacious, large TV and comfy beds. The bathroom could use better lighting and maybe a mirrored or frosted door to let the light in from the vanity area. The Foxwood/MGM theatre is exactly 8miles away, the hotel offers a shuttle at $15 per person, we opted to drive and parking at the theatre is free.

Breakfast was good, they had the usual fare, eggs, muffins, etc. The only thing we did not like was the maid woke us up at 10am, then the maintennance person came at 11am advising that there was a leak in our room to the other floor, it was almost as if they were letting us know it's time to go, did not like that at all.

Overall a nice, clean and quiet spot, within distance to everything fun!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back, it backs up to a huge retaining way not much of a view but very queit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classactforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The staff is amazing. We had no problems with them and they were all so friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the casino worked out perfectly. The hotel is very clean.

I only have a couple of complaints. One being that there is no heavy curtain to cover the window, just a sheer one. So the sun light got pretty annoying at times. Also, the bed was definitely not as comfortable as you'd expect. It wasn't terrible at all, but I did wake up with a stiff back both mornings.

The hotel is in the perfect location for every attraction in the area. Breakfast was good. We were really happy with it and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateAndNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having had 30 hotel nights thus year do far this hotel was best value and great amenities. Rooms large, big TV, nice living area, great beds. Breakfast was good with very friendly staff. Excellent location off I95. Close to Mystic seaport and casinos. Only upgrade would be ALL HD channels on TV. Large HD Tv only a few HX channels.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This room was a great size. The pics that the hotel posts of the rooms are real.
It was clean and all of the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Property: Hyatt Place Mystic
Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing