We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We just stayed at the Hyatt for the past 3 nights. Room was comfortable-king bed and "living area" w large sofa, desk wet bar, fridge, coffee maker. Only downside was the small amount of "storage space"- three small drawers and a closet that only opened halfway. We did ask for more hangers and were given them within a short time period. Service was wonderful- cheerful, friendly, helpful. Breakfast was fine for me but my husband wished for more variety in the continental breakfast: larger, more varied Danish, bagels daily, bananas daily (although he didn't ask if there were any). The location was also fine. It was easy to get to anywhere we were going. Could have easily walked to the shops in Old Mystic Village and the aquarium as well as the Seaport Museum. Easy drive into Mystic with free parking. Overall great. Would stay there again if I ever return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alemgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    313
    84
    26
    30
See reviews for
384
361
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

First of all, the staff was excellent. Very attentive and proactive. This was the best part of the hotel. The rooms on the third floor while spacious and comfortable, smelled musty and the outdoor pool area was infested with mice (we complained and did see an exterminator the next day). The continental breakfast while decent quality, was a pain to access in a very small buffet style room. Good location for access to 95 but a bit of a long walk into mystic. Free wireless access was nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njlees25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We came upon Mystic and this hotel on our way to NYC, we only stayed for the one night but really would have sacrificed a night in NYC had we not pre-booked there.

From the moment we enquired as to availability and price we were well looked after, we were shown a huge room and were advised to take one on the first floor as this was Memorial weekend and a lot of kids were staying.

As stated the room was huge there was a king size bed, and seating area from which to watch the tv, this swivelled to enable viewing from the bed. There was an area where business could be conducted and a very impressive bathroom.
In the morning the breakfast area was rammed with people, however there was plenty of space and food available. Unfortunately we never got time to use the pool but from the squeals and screams coming from the vicinity I'm guessing it was good.

We'd like to give special mention the the lady who took care of us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we unfortunately never got her name but she has "SIX" kids one who also works there, she is a credit not only to the company but also her children, for who she goes not only the extra mile but a full marathon. I hope somebody from the company reads this and passes on our thanks.

Room Tip: Ask to view and take advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyScat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Hyatt Place Mystic is a decent chain hotel. We arrived at ten at night, and it has a (relatively) new feature: you can check in with a machine, and it prints out a receipt and gives you your room keys. Of course, you can also check in at the front desk, where the staff is very friendly and helpful. They will give you a map, as well as a sheet with WiFi instructions and directions to nearby stores such as Wal-Mart and gas stations. The staff member that helped us even called Mystic Pizza for us to check their hours. The rooms are nice enough (and quite clean); though the mattresses were a little hard, and the TV was at a slightly odd angle. Breakfast is your average continental breakfast: coffee, tea, bagels, fruit, Danishes, muffins, cereal, etc. Overall, a nice chain hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devontastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice place with a contemporary, hip style. Rooms are cool looking and there is a comfy sectional with a fold out bed and a large 42" tv on a swivel. Location is centerally located, close to the freeway but not the coast. For some reason there aren't any hotels along the river. The location is not too far from Mystic seaport or the drawbridge and is a long walk from the aquarium and the shops. Overall, it's a good location but nothing exciting.

They give you free parking and Internet which is nice, and the business center has a printer that is very fast and works very easily. There is a desk in te room with a comfy working chair, i would have liked them to provide some stationary, or a notepad or something bigger than the post-it pad.

Breakfast is included, but not too exciting, cereal, juice, bagels, muffins.

They have a kitchen that makes hot breakfast for a charge. My thing is if they are just having cereal and bagels, then why are they in such a hurry to put everything away by 9? By 8:30 they are already running out of food and cleaning up. Couldn't they leave the bagels and coffee out until check out time?

The service was friendly and helpful and overall it's a great place to stay, but nothing to write home about. I've never been to Mystic before so I can't compare it to other nearby places. I would stay there again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We like to stay here when we go to Mystic for a weekend. It's a great location. Not far from other area attractions... Downtown Mystic. Jonathan Edwards Winery. Mohegan Sun.

The hotel is always clean. Staff is always friendly. Breakfast is good (we always do the free breakfast).

I did, however, go to make my reservations for this November, and the price shot up quite a bit, so will probably be staying elsewhere this year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zinful71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

On a ten day trip through southern New England my wife and I stayed in a different B&B or Hotel each night. The Hyatt Place was the best of them - and one of the least expensive. A lovely large room with 2 Queen beds, plenty of space, good bathroom, plus a heated outdoor swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful in the extreme.

I returned to the hotel 3 hours after checking out to ask if I could make a call to try to deal with a problem with our rental car (UK mobile could not make the toll-free call). The receptionist called maintenance to see if they could help with the car, got through to the rental company on the phone, and gave us coffee and biscuits while we waited - all without charge. Any idea that hotels are impersonal and unfriendly compared to B&Bs is given the lie by the Mystic Hyatt Place - it was one of our best, and best value, stays anywhere on our travels. This is all that a hotel should be.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PALMA2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Property: Hyatt Place Mystic
Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing