We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard suite & bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed with a few Residence Inns for the convenience of the two rooms while traveling with toddlers. We went to mystic for an overnight trip with our 2.5 year old and 6 month old. A few months ago we stayed at the Residence Inn in Langhorne, PA for sesame place, so I will compare the two a bit.

This suite and bedroom unit was definitely smaller than ours in PA. A little disappointing because we need the room with two pack and plays. It sufficed. While checking in I was told that we did not have a pack and play reserved in our name, even though we had requested one while booking online. I suggest you call to confirm because this happened to us in PA, too. Luckily, a half hour after checking in, maintenance brought one to our room. Phew!

The room was clean and had all standard amenities. The bathroom was clean and not run down. I really cannot complain about anything!

The pool area was very small. We went swimming after dinner and it was just the four of us. It was fine until 7:30 when about 15 kids descended on this tiny area. No lie- cannon balling and screaming and all. That was our cue to leave. When you see how small the pool is you'll realize how crowded it is with 20 people in there.

The next morning we had the complimentary breakfast put on by the hotel. It's laid out in a tight area and the line was long. Tough setup for families, in my opinion.

We went to the aquarium that morning before checking in at 2. We called ahead to see if we could arrive earlier than the 3 pm checkin and they said it was fine. After naps, we walked the village shops- very cute area if the weather is nice! We ate at the Pita Spot for dinner. It's small, but we were there T 5:30 and got a table right away. The next day we did the seaport (not great for our family bc our kids are too young to enjoy it) and lunch at Sea View and then drove home.

Overall, a nice trip. I would definitely recommend Residence Inn to families who need to space.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank RoaminGnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear RoaminGnomes,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review with TripAdvisor. Its great to hear that your hotel of choice when traveling are Marriott Properties and specifically Residence Inn's. I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer even during our busier times. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again when visiting Mystic and all the attractions that it has to offer.

Best Regards,
Anthony Covino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Residence Inns all look and operate similarly, so you know what to expect when you step into one.

With an infant in tow, I appreciate that my room had a door separating the living area and the bedroom. The pullout bed was fantastic, not for its comfort but more its convenience. The bed was very comfortable and the room (and especially the toilet) was surprisingly clean. We really loved the full-sized fridge and especially the microwave. We had an electric stove with a glass cooktop - classy for what we paid!

The free included breakfast buffet was more than sufficient and tasty, though repetitive over the days. And we appreciate the free flow of coffee throughout the day. What we really liked was the Manager's reception, where there was light food around dinner time from Mon-Thu. That saved us a lot of hassle and money!

We really loved the indoor pool. Really loved it - perfect for our infant to practice swimming! Gym was small but sufficient - and open 24 hrs.

Location is perfect, very close to the Olde Mistick Village and more importantly the Aquarium. You can go back to the Aquarium for three consecutive days with a ticket. Also, if you pay cash for a ticket at the visitor's center at the Olde Mistick Village you get to save some money. At least $5 per ticket if I remember correctly. It is also a short drive to the Mystic Bridge area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0nS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear JOnS,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review with TripAdvisor. Its great to hear that you enjoyed everything that the Residence Inn as to offer in terms of ammenities. I will share your gracious comments with our staff as I am sure that they will be very excited to hear about a job well done. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Anthony Covino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We are staying here now. Left at 9:00 am and just got back at 3;45 p.m. and the room hasn't been touched! Told front desk and they said they would send someone now and I said it was too late - we were going to rest in room before going out to dinner They said they were understaffed. I said her cart was still in hallway but that rest of cleaning staff were leaving. I asked why none of them could help her and was given no answer. Unacceptable that we were gone all day and room was not cleaned!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Lynn M,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a TripAdvisor review about your current stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when returning from your day out and not finding your suite cleaned yet. We are able to make adjustments when speaking with our guests about cleaning services and I am hopeful that you experienced that the rest of your stay. Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Anthony Covino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I like that the majority of Residence Inns look the same and have the same layout. So you know what you are booking. Breakfast was great as always. Close to the aquarium and seaport. Rhode Island beaches are 10 miles a way.

Room Tip: Unattached building seemed quiter then the main building which housed the lobby,pool,gym and breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcamper2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear dcamper2u,

Thank you for your review of our Mystic Residence Inn. We are pleased to hear you found the accommodations consistent with Marriott's high standards for hospitality. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future. The Mystic area has lots to offer travelers including our proximity to the beautiful beaches just over the state boarder in Rhode Island.

Kind Regards,
Mark Lombardi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We recently stayed one night while we were visiting the Mystic Aquarium. It was a perfect location-close to the aquarium, shopping and dining. Breakfast was crowded but a nice bonus, not having to go out. We liked having the separate bedroom and pull out for our daughter. We were able to eat dinner in easily with the table/kitchen area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a typical Marriott Residence Inn. The room was smallish but has all the usual stuff. Breakfast is served in the morning common room. There's a pool. You are close enough to things in Mystic but you will have to drive. There aren't a lot of options in Mystic so this is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Margarita200,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Residence Inn Mystic. We strive to excel in all we do at the hotel and I am hopeful that the next time that you stay with us you will experience the type of service that many of our guests have commented on.

Thank you,
Anthony Covino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This property is right off of I-95 and it is literally less than 5 minutes from Mystic Aquarium and Mystic Seaport. The rest of Mystic is not far away at all. The staff was fabulous. After checking in I got a call from the manager making sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room had a full size refrigerator which was perfect for storing our cooler items from the road. The hallways and lobby were also clean and inviting. The hot breakfast is ideal since it provides both indulgent and healthy choices. The pool is somewhat small but more than adequate for letting the kids have fun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fleishum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review to the TripAdvisor community about the Residence Inn Mystic. We are pleased that our hotel amenities and services were well received. We strive to provide each guest with a rewarding experience. We hope that if return to Mystic, you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Mark Lombardi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Address: 40 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $80 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mystic Groton 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing